Burl Ives Return of The Wayfaring Stranger

Return of The Wayfaring Stranger
11 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6662
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Burl Ives was a legend in a few fields of entertainment - he was an Academy Award-winning actor, acclaimed vocalist with many Top 10 hits, Folk artist extraordinaire, as well as the voice on TV's Christmas classic "Frosty The Snowman". This long out-of-print features liner notes from the original album and its highlights are folk classics such as "John Henry", "Mule Train" and "Riders In The Sky".


  • 1.John Henry
  • 2.Billy The Kid
  • 3.Fare Thee Well, 0 Honey
  • 4.Mah Lindy Lou
  • 5.Mule Train
  • 6.The Worried Man Blues
  • 7.Greer County Bachelor
  • 8.Lilly Munroe
  • 9.Old Blue
  • 10.Ballanderie
  • 11.Lord Randall
  • 12.Riders In The Sky (Cowboy Legend)
  • 13.Wayfaring Stranger
  • 14.Woolie Boogie Bee
  • 15.I've Got A Fever In My Bones
  • 16.River Of Smoke
  • 17.The Doughnut Song
  • 18.(O-Lee-O) The Bachelor's Life
  • 19.Lady From Laramie
  • 20.Jolie Jacqueline
  • 21.Pig Pig (So I Can Get Home Tonight)
  • 22.Last Night The Nightingale Woke Me
  • 23.What Shall I Do With The Baby-O

Product Description:

Contains 11 bonus tracks.
Originally released on Columbia Records (CL 1459).
This follow-up to The Wayfaring Stranger is, if anything, livelier and more bracing than its predecessor, released five years earlier. In contrast to The Wayfaring Stranger, which was aimed at younger folk listeners (especially children) and purists, Return of the Wayfaring Stranger came out in the midst of the folk revival; in that regard, it seems a little archaic for a 1960 release. Burl Ives didn't change his sound -- which remained soft and lyrical -- so much as extend his repertoire to encompass two contemporary hits inspired by folk themes, "Riders in the Sky" and "Mule Train," the latter done with elements that are more familiar from the song "Fast Freight," and also intersect with the Kingston Trio on "The Worried Man Blues." The singing is beautifully intoned in the restrained manner of the previous generation of performers, a fact that appealed to the purists who Ives still counted in his audience, and to parents looking for material that was safe for their children. It was records like this, as much as his classic Decca sides, that kept his reputation as a folksinger for children alive into the 1960s, even amid his burgeoning acting career. Return of the Wayfaring Stranger was reissued in 2000 by Collectables Records with almost a dozen bonus tracks dating from his early days at Columbia Records -- the latter, mostly done with a light pop orchestra backing, are pleasant enough but don't readily fit together well with the later material off the actual album, which is done in a more authentic folk style. ~ Bruce Eder
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Burl Ives

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,337
  • UPC: 090431666227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)