Collectables Records

Duke Ellington Best of Duke Ellington / New Mood Indigo

Best of Duke Ellington / New Mood Indigo
27% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $14.97
Your Price: $10.98
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  COL 6655
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Products with a similar style:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Doctor Jazz 45257
  • Original Album #2: Doctor Jazz 40359

Description by

This original Columbia recording is unusual in its diversity, offering tracks performed with a septet, quartet, and full band. "Jump For Joy," "Way Back Blues," and a new version of the classic "Mood Indigo" are just some of the terrific tunes that comprise this remarkable collection. Performers include Chick Corea, Clark Terry, Johnny Hodges and others.


  • 1.Way Back Blues
  • 2.Where's The Music?
  • 3.Rubber Bottom
  • 4.Jump For Joy
  • 5.In A Mellow Tone (Take 1)
  • 6.Happy Reunion (Take 1)
  • 7.Diminuendo And Crescendo In Blue
  • 8.New Mood Indigo
  • 9.Play The Blues & Go
  • 10.Mack The Knife
  • 11.The Feeling Of Jazz
  • 12.West Indian Pancake
  • 13.Veldt Amour
  • 14.Wings & Things
  • 15.In The Alley
  • 16.Sassy
  • 17.Ugh
  • 18.Portrait For Pea

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Duke Ellington (piano); Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Jimmy Hamilton, Paul Gonslaves, Harry Carney (reeds); Cootie Williams, Cat Anderson, Herbie Jones, Mercer Ellington, Clark Terry, Ray Nance (trumpet);
Lawrence Brown, Buster Cooper, Chuck Connors (trombone); Chick Corea (piano); Jimmy Woode, Peck Morrison, Aaron Bell (bass); Louis Bellson, Sam Woodyard (drums).
Producers include: Duke Ellington, Mercer Ellington.
Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, trumpet); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, reeds); Johnny Hodges (reeds, alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (reeds, tenor saxophone); Harry Carney, Russell Procope (reeds); Clark Terry, Cootie Williams, Herbie Jones, Roy Burrowes, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Leon Cox, Lawrence Brown , Chuck Connors, Buster Cooper (trombone); John Sanders (valve trombone); Sam Woodyard (drums).
Liner Note Author: Roger Rhodes.
This combination of two Duke Ellington albums contains a collection of vintage tracks by the legendary bandleader as well as selections by his son, Mercer, whose septet includes Ellington stalwarts like saxophonist Johnny Hodges and trumpeter Ray Nance, as well as a young pianist by the name of Chick Corea.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info:

  • UPC: 090431665527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm