Great Arrival / Bully!

Great Arrival / Bully!
5 ratings
SALE: $7.49
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6616
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1466 (1966)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1461 (1966)

Description by

Sergio Mendes includes a full-orchestra exploration of new exciting Brazilian as well as American pop tunes on his debut American album. On this disc, Mendes is paired with an outing by the Quartette Tres Bien (commonly referred to as the QTB), a jazz combo that added bongos and conga drums to give an African flavor to the basic swinging beat of the group.


  • 1.The Great Arrival
  • 2.Monday, Monday
  • 3.Carnaval
  • 4.Cancao Do Amanhecer
  • 5.Here's That Rainy Day
  • 6.Boranda
  • 7.Nana
  • 8.Bonita
  • 9.Morning
  • 10.Don't Go Breaking My Heart
  • 11.Tristeza De Amar
  • 12.Girl Talk
  • 13.Bully!
  • 14.I Never Knew
  • 15.Caravan
  • 16.I've Never Been In Love Before
  • 17.Work Song
  • 18.Exodus
  • 19.Three O'Clock In The Morning

Product Description:

/Quartette Tres Bien.
2 LPs on 1 CD: THE GREAT ARRIVAL (Sergio Mendes) (1966)/BULLY! (Quartette Tres Bien) (1966).
Personnel includes: Sergio Mendes (piano); Clare Fischer, Bob Florence, Dick Hazard (arranger, conductor).
Quartette Tres Bien: Jeter Thompson (piano); Richard Simmons (bass); Albert St. James (drums); Percy James (bongos, congas).
Originally released on Atlantic.
Personnel: Joao Palma (drums); Percy James (congas, bongos).
Liner Note Authors: Bob Rolontz; Norman Gimbel.
Arrangers: Clare Fischer; Dick Hazard; Bob Florence.
In 2000, reissue powerhouse Collectables combined Sergio Mendes' two records from his 1966 campaign (Great Arrival and Bully!, both originally on the Atlantic imprint) and put them together on one disc. A most sensible combination of classic Latin jazz, and economically feasible to boot. ~ Rob Theakston
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sergio Mendes

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,040
  • UPC: 090431661628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)