Claude Hopkins Safari Stomp

Safari Stomp
10% OFF
List Price: $19.98
Your Price: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  RVR9
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Black & Blue France


  • Buy for $0.991.I Would Do Anything for You
  • Buy for $0.992.Crying Out My Heart for You
  • Buy for $0.993.Struttin' with Some Barbecue [Take 3]
  • Buy for $0.994.Nice Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Them There Eyes
  • Buy for $0.996.Poor Butterfly
  • Buy for $0.997.Safari Stomp
  • Buy for $0.998.I'm Coming Virginia
  • Buy for $0.999.Who's Sorry Now [#]
  • Buy for $0.9910.Cute
  • Buy for $0.9911.Struttin' with Some Barbecue [Take 3][#]
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • Buy for $0.9913.It's Wonderful [#]
  • Buy for $0.9914.Safari Stomp [Take 1][#]
  • Buy for $0.9915.Cute [Take 2][#]
  • Buy for $0.9916.Struttin' with Some Barbecue [Take 2][#]

Product Description:

Recorded in 1974.
Followed only by Sophisticated Swing, a live album captured at Virginia's Manassas Jazz Festival in December 1974, Safari Stomp was hatched in Valaurisis, France six months earlier on July 17 and appears to constitute pianist and bandleader Claude Hopkins' very last studio recording. Originally released as Black & Blue by the Black & Blue record label, the album's 2003 reissue adds previously omitted titles "Cute," "It's Wonderful," "Who's Sorry Now," and "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)" along with several juicy alternate takes. Hopkins, whose recording career began in 1922, is heard in relaxed communion with Louis Armstrong's longtime bassist Arvell Shaw and master percussionist Jo Jones, a cardinal member of the Count Basie Orchestra from 1935-1948. This intimate and pleasantly casual outing compares nicely with latter-day trio recordings by Hopkins' colleagues Duke Ellington and Earl Fatha Hines. Hopkins' music is recommended for tooling around in your ride or preparing a big meal for trusted friends and family. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Claude Hopkins

Product Info:

  • UPC: 3448961096026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)