Glenn Miller In the USA & Europe: Snafu Jump (Live)

In the USA & Europe: Snafu Jump (Live)
10% OFF
Rating 4.0
1 rating
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  EE2E
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: October 9, 2007
  • Label: Sounds Of Yesteryear


  • 1.S.N.A.F.U. Jump
  • 2.Hallelujah
  • 3.Now We Know
  • 4.Medley: Caprice Viennois / Sunday, Monday and Always / My Isle of Golden Dr
  • 5.Irresistible You
  • 6.Time Alone Will Tell
  • 7.In My Arms
  • 8.Alouette
  • 9.Tuxedo Junction
  • 10.King Porter Stomp
  • 11.Wham
  • 12.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 13.In the Middle of May
  • 14.Whatcha Know Joe?
  • 15.Somebody's Wrong
  • 16.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • 17.Spanish Shawl
  • 18.I Don't Want to Be Loved
  • 19.American Patrol
  • 20.Summertime
  • 21.Have Ya Got Any Gum Chum?
  • 22.All Through the Night
  • 23.Autumn Serenade

Product Description:

Personnel: Murray Kane, Johnny Desmond, Ray McKinley (vocals).
Recording information: Europe (06/11/1943-11/03/1945); New York, NY (06/11/1943-11/03/1945); United States (06/11/1943-11/03/1945).
Author: John R. Bennett.
In a three-year period, Glenn Miller put together a serviceman's band, playing live concerts in the U.S. and Europe, and not only stretched his repertoire, but swung harder than many other jazz big bands of the day, even his previous groups. On the 23 cuts present in this rare collection, the unfortunate drawback is that the sound is for the most part muddy, and digital transfers cannot change that. The good news is that there are many numbers lesser known in the Miller repertoire that fans should want, including versions of "King Porter Stomp," "Spanish Shawl," and vocal novelty songs "Wham" and "Have Ya Got Any Gum Chum?" The kickoff track, "S.N.A.F.U. Jump," really leaps from the speakers, and of course "American Patrol" and "Tuxedo Junction" are here. An occasional standard or sappy ballad crops up, but does not depreciate this interesting aside to Miller's discography, considering that he had broken up his regular band before these sides were made. Also, judging by the dates in the CD booklet (1943-1945), it should be assumed that some of these recordings were made with the Miller band after he died in 1944, if indeed the graphics are correct. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Glenn Miller

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5019317070434
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item