Les Brown Sweetest Sounds

Sweetest Sounds
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.80 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HJ2H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 27, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Old Bean / Old Soy


  • 1.The Sweetest Sounds
  • 2.How Am I to Know?
  • 3.My Funny Valentine
  • 4.Why Shouldn't I?
  • 5.My Romance
  • 6.I Get Along Without You Very Well
  • 7.Angry
  • 8.Some People
  • 9.Man With a Horn
  • 10.Show Me
  • 11.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 12.Little Brown Jug
  • 13.Sleepy Time Gal
  • 14.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 15.One O' Clock Jump / Closing Theme (Leap Frog)

Product Description:

Recorded in the 1950's.
Personnel: Rosemary Clooney (vocals).
Unknown Contributor Role: Les Brown & His Orchestra.
In between getting his start as a bandleader in the early '40s and helping to start the Recording Academy in 1959, Les Brown made his name as one of the best-loved practitioners of the smooth big band sound. No layered or beard-stroking arrangements   la Stan Kenton and Duke Ellington for Brown; he swung for the charts and sock-hop lovers across the country. With the hugely successful hit "Sentimental Journey," Brown's mid-'40s girl singer Doris Day cemented the band's place atop the jazz-pop heap. Later, Brown would avoid the '50s route of many a defunct big band by working extensively with Bob Hope. During this time, Brown's band continued releasing records, including this fine collection featuring Rosemary Clooney. On the heels of her own rise to fame, via novelty fare like "Mambo Italiano" and "Come on-a My House," Clooney shines here on chestnuts like "How Am I to Know," "Sleepy Time Gal," and "I Get Along Without You Very Well." Augmenting several vocal cuts, the band turn in some top-flight instrumentals, including "Man With a Horn," "My Romance," and "Little Brown Jug." A fine title for both Brown and Clooney fans. ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Les Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 5019317600006
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)