Count Basie Count Basie at Southland 1940 (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  JZB 2178
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: June 25, 2002
  • Label: Jazz Band


  • 1.Introduction / One O'Clock Jump - (Introduction)
  • 2.Ebony Rhapsody
  • 3.Riff Interlude
  • 4.Darn That Dream
  • 5.Take It, Pres
  • 6.Baby, Don't Tell on Me
  • 7.One Hour
  • 8.I Got Rhythm (Closing) - (Closing)
  • 9.Introduction
  • 10.One O'Clock Jump
  • 11.Rhythm Man
  • 12.You'll Never Know
  • 13.Blue Lou
  • 14.The Chicks I Pick Are Slender, Tender and Tall
  • 15.As Time Goes By
  • 16.It's Sand, Man!
  • 17.Boogie Woogie
  • 18.Yeah Man!
  • 19.Closing (One O'Clock Jump) - (Closing)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Count Basie (piano); Earl Warren (vocals, alto saxophone); Helen Humes, Jimmy Rushing, Thelma Carpenter, Jimmy Rushing (vocals); Jack Washington (alto & baritone saxophones); Lester Young, Don Byas, Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Buck Clayton, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Al Killian, Ed Lewis, Snooky Young (trumpet); Vic Dickenson, Dan Minor, Dicky Wells (trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Walter Page (bass); Jo Jones (drums).
Recorded live at Southland Theatre Resturant, Boston, Massachusetts and in Hollywood, California on February 20, 1940 and in June & July 1943. Includes liner notes by Chris Sheridan.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Earle Warren (vocals, alto saxophone); Helen Humes, Jimmy Rushing, Thelma Carpenter (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Jack Washington (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Dicky Wells (alto saxophone, trombone); Don Byas, Robert Scott , Louis Taylor, Jr. , Eli Robinson (alto saxophone); Lester Young , Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Ed Lewis, Harry "Sweets" Edison , Snooky Young, Buck Clayton (trumpet); Vic Dickenson, Dan Minor (trombone); Jo Jones (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Sheridan.
Recording information: AFRS "Downbeat" Transcription #60, Hollywood, CA (02/20/1940-07/??/1943); WJZ Broadcast, Southland Theatre Restaurant, Boston, MA (02/20/1940-07/??/1943).
Arrangers: Count Basie; Don Redman; Eddie Durham; Horace Henderson; Jimmy Mundy; Buck Clayton.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5020957217820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item