Count Basie The Alternative Takes, Volume 4: 1941-1945

The Alternative Takes, Volume 4: 1941-1945
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HHXR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 22, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Neatwork


  • 1.Something New
  • 2.Platterbrains
  • 3.Platterbrains
  • 4.All Of Me
  • 5.All Of Me (Extract)
  • 6.Feather Merchant
  • 7.Feather Merchant
  • 8.Down For Double
  • 9.More Than You Know
  • 10.Harvard Blues
  • 11.Coming-Out Party
  • 12.One O'Clock Jump
  • 13.'Ay Now
  • 14.'Ay Now
  • 15.For The Good Of Your Country
  • 16.For The Good Of Your Country
  • 17.Basie Blues
  • 18.Time On My Hands
  • 19.Ain't It The Truth?
  • 20.Ain't It The Truth?
  • 21.Jimmy Blues
  • 22.Red Bank Boogie
  • 23.Avenue C
  • 24.Avenue C
  • 25.Avenue C
  • 26.That Old Feeling

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie, Harry Edision, Tab Smith, Don Byas, Jimmy Rushing, Buddy Tate, Freddy Green, Jo Jones, Earl Warren, Dicky Wells, Joe Newman, Walter Page, Lucky Thompson.
Contains 26 tracks.
Personnel: Henry Nemo, Lynne Sherman, Jimmy Rushing (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Earle Warren (violin, alto saxophone); Jerry Blake, Rudy Rutherford (clarinet); Tab Smith (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Caughey Roberts (alto saxophone); Don Byas, Lucky Thompson, Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Walter Page, Rodney Richardson (bass saxophone); Ed Lewis, Al Stearns, Harry "Sweets" Edison , Joe Newman , Al Killian, Buck Clayton (trumpet); Dicky Wells, Robert Scott , Eli Robinson, Ted Donnelly, Louis Taylor , Ed Cuffee (trombone); Jo Jones , Shadow Wilson (drums).
Recording information: Chicago, IL (10/01/1941-02/26/1944); Hollywood, CA (10/01/1941-02/26/1944); New York, NY (10/01/1941-02/26/1944).
Arrangers: Count Basie; Don Redman; Jimmy Mundy; Tab Smith; Buck Clayton; Buster Harding.
The Alternative Takes series is of immense value to consumers of the "French Classics" CD series. These are alternate takes in chronological order of historic jazz (and some blues) with a strong representation of the swing era. The Alternative Takes, Vol. 4: 1941-1945 contains 26 Count Basie tracks on a single disc including multiple takes of "'Ay Now," "Avenue C," and "Platterbrains." While the disc is definitely directed toward collectors, anyone with an interest in this period of jazz will also enjoy it. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 9120006940580
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)