Count Basie The Alternative Takes, Volume 3: 1941

The Alternative Takes, Volume 3: 1941
10% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  NEAT 2054
on most orders of $100
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 22, 2002
  • Label: Neatwork


  • 1.The Jitters
  • 2.The Jitters
  • 3.9:20 Special
  • 4.H And J
  • 5.Feedin' The Bean
  • 6.You Betcha My Life
  • 7.You Betcha My Life
  • 8.Down, Down, Down
  • 9.Down, Down, Down
  • 10.Tune Town Shuffle
  • 11.Tune Town Shuffle
  • 12.One-Two-Three-O'Lairy
  • 13.One-Two-Three-O'Lairy
  • 14.One-Two-Three-O'Lairy
  • 15.One-Two-Three-O'Lairy
  • 16.Basie Boogie
  • 17.Basie Boogie
  • 18.Diggin' For Dex
  • 19.Diggin' For Dex
  • 20.My Old Flame
  • 21.Fiesta In Blue
  • 22.Fiesta In Blue (Breakdown)
  • 23.Fiesta In Blue (Breakdown)
  • 24.Fiesta In Blue
  • 25.King Joe - Part I
  • 26.King Joe - Part II

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Count Basie, Buck Clayton, Harry Edison, Dicky Wells, Tab Smith, Don Byas, Fredd Green, Jimmy Rushing, Coleman Hawkins, Buddy Tate, Walter Page, Earl Warren, Jo Jones, Jack Washington.
Contains 26 tracks.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Earle Warren (vocals, alto saxophone); Lynne Sherman, Jimmy Rushing, Paul Robeson (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Tab Smith (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Don Byas, Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Walter Page (bass saxophone); Ed Lewis, Harry "Sweets" Edison , Al Killian (trumpet); Robert Scott , Eli Robinson, Dan Minor, Ed Cuffee (trombone); Jo Jones , Kenny Clarke (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (01/28/1941-10/01/1941); New York, NY (01/28/1941-10/01/1941).
Director: Count Basie.
Arranger: Buck Clayton.
The Alternative Takes series is of immense value to consumers of the "French Classics" CD series. These are alternate takes in chronological order of historic jazz (and some blues) with a strong representation of the swing era. The Alternative Takes, Vol. 3: 1941 contains 26 Count Basie tracks on a single disc including multiple takes of "Fiesta in Blue," "One-Two-Three-O'lairy," and "The Jitters." While the disc is definitely directed toward collectors, anyone with an interest in this period of jazz will also enjoy it. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info:

  • UPC: 9120006940542
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item