Soul Christmas
by Various Artists

Soul Christmas
23 ratings
11 copies available
List Price: $13.98
Price: $13.57
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  9A9C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.White Christmas - Clyde McPhatter
  • 2.This Christmas - Donny Hathaway
  • 3.Gee Whiz, It's Christmas - Carla Thomas
  • 4.Back Door Santa - Clarence Carter
  • 5.Merry Christmas, Baby - Booker T. & the MG's
  • 6.Silent Night - The Impressions
  • 7.May Christmas Bring You Happiness - Luther
  • 8.White Christmas - Otis Redding
  • 9.I'll Make Every Day Christmas (For My Woman) - Joe Tex
  • 10.Silver Bells - Booker T. & the MG's
  • 11.All I Want for Christmas Is You - Carla Thomas
  • 12.Christmas Song, The - The Drifters
  • 13.Merry Christmas, Baby - Otis Redding
  • 14.Soul Santa - Brook Benton
  • 15.Every Day Will Be Like a Holiday - The Sweet Inspirations
  • 16.Christmas Gift - Margie Joseph
  • 17.Presents for Christmas - Solomon Burke
  • 18.New Year's Resolution - Otis & Carla
  • 19.What Are You Doing New Year's Eve? - King Curtis
  • 20.May Christmas Bring You Happiness - Luther (1991 mix)

Product Description:

Adapters: Ronald Coleman; McKinley Jackson.
Personnel: Clarence Carter (vocals, guitar); Cissy Houston, Myrna Smith, Estelle Brown, Donny Hathaway, Johnny Moore Band, Joe Tex, Johnny Moore's Three Blazers, Margie Joseph, Otis Redding, Solomon Burke, Sylvia Shemwell, Carla Thomas (vocals); Clyde McPhatter, Gerhart Thrasher, Charles Thomas (tenor); Andrew Thrasher, Eugene Pearson (baritone, bass voice); Johnny Terry, Bill Pinkney (bass voice); Billy Davis , Duane Allman, Jimmy Oliver, Steve Cropper, Billy Butler (guitar); Gil Askey (banjo); Bob Gallo (strings); Bill Bivins, Billy Bivens, John Scott (saxophone); Joe Arnold, King Curtis, Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Dave Burns, Eddie Williams , Wayne Jackson (trumpet); George Jeffers (trombone); Isaac Hayes (piano); Robert Banks, Booker T. Jones (organ); Jimmy Johnson, Jr. , Al Jackson, Jr. , Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums).
Audio Remixers: Bert Bevans; Steven Greenberg.
Liner Note Author: Margaux Ravis.
Recording information: Atlantic Studios, New York, NY (02/04/1954-10/08/1970); Columbia Studios, Nashville, TN (02/04/1954-10/08/1970); Fame Studios, Muscle Shoals (02/04/1954-10/08/1970); Memphis, TN (02/04/1954-10/08/1970); New York, NY (02/04/1954-10/08/1970).
Arrangers: Eric Gale ; McKinley Jackson; Paul Riser.
This 1991 reissue includes eight of the original 11 tracks included on the Atco 1968 release (a rare album still worth seeking), with 11 more tracks added from the Atlantic vaults. Few, if any, Christmas compilations are more essential than this. Otis Redding's performances of "White Christmas" and "Merry Christmas, Baby" are alone worth the price of admission. Clarence Carter's funky "Back Door Santa" and Joe Tex's ballad "I'll Make Every Day Christmas (For My Woman)" are only two more tracks that make this collection an absolute must-have CD. ~ Dennis MacDonald

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 77,726
  • UPC: 075678231629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Holiday & Seasonal genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)