Ersel Hickey Rockin' Bluebird

Rockin' Bluebird
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6479
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Rockabilly singer/guitarist Ersel Hickey had his biggest solo hit with his self-penned "Bluebirds Over The Mountain", which was also covered by the likes of The Beach Boys and Richie Valens. His other songs have been recorded by diverse artists such as The Serendipity Singers, LaVerne Baker, and Jackie Wilson. On this collection Hickey sings his own tunes and is backed by Al Caiola on lead guitar plus The Ray Charles Singers.


  • 1.Bluebirds Over The Mountain
  • 2.Hangin' Around
  • 3.Goin' Down That Road
  • 4.Lover's Land
  • 5.You Never Can Tell
  • 6.Wedding Day
  • 7.Don't Be Afraid Of Love
  • 8.You Threw A Dart
  • 9.People Gotta Talk
  • 10.I Can't Love Another
  • 11.What Do You Want?
  • 12.Love In Bloom
  • 13.Stardust Brought Me You
  • 14.Another Wasted Day
  • 15.Shame On Me
  • 16.Some Enchanted Evening
  • 17.Put Your Mind At Ease
  • 18.Rockabilly Dream
  • 19.In Spite Of The Fool That I Am
  • 20.Kicks

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ersel Hickey (vocals, guitar); Al Caiola (guitar); Ray Charles Singers.
Recorded between 1958 & 1960.
Liner Note Author: Nick Shaffran.
Photographer: Ersel Hickey.
Collectable's Ersel Hickey compilation The Rockin' Bluebird is nearly as comprehensive as Bear Family's 1994 collection Bluebirds Over the Mountain, featuring his biggest hit "Bluebirds Over the Mountain," "Kicks," and "Shame on Me." "Don't Be Afraid of Love," "Stardust Brought Me You," and "Rockabilly Dream" also showcase Hickey's unique, pop-tinged rockabilly style. Though it lacks some of the alternate versions that the Bear Family collection includes, The Rockin' Bluebird is still a fine introduction to Ersel Hickey's music. ~ Heather Phares
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Ersel Hickey

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 50,282
  • UPC: 090431647929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)