Flatt & Scruggs His Family & Friends / Nashville Airplane

His Family & Friends / Nashville Airplane
7 ratings
12 copies available
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6475
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Stand-out tracks from the greatest names in Bluegrass include "Folson Prison Blues", "Nashville Skyline Rag" performed with Bob Dylan, and "Love Is Just A Four-Letter Word" performed with Joan Baez.


  • 1.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 2.Lonesome Ruben
  • 3.My Home's Across The Blue Ridge Mountains
  • 4.Love Is Just A Four-Letter Word
  • 5.The Last Thing On My Mind
  • 6.Streamlined Cannonball
  • 7.Nashville Skyline Rag
  • 8.Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • 9.You Ain't Going Nowhere
  • 10.Nothin' To It
  • 11.Salty Dog Blues
  • 12.On Top Of Old Smokey
  • 13.Black Mountain Rag
  • 14.Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • 15.Like A Rolling Stone
  • 16.Folsom Prison Blues
  • 17.Gentle On My Mind
  • 18.If I Were A Carpenter
  • 19.Frieda Florentine
  • 20.I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
  • 21.Rainy Day Women #12 & #35
  • 22.Catch The Wind
  • 23.Long Road To Houston
  • 24.The Times They Are A-Changin'
  • 25.Universal Soldier

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Earl Scruggs (banjo); Joan Baez, Bob Dylan, Doc Watson, Randy Scruggs (vocals, guitar); Gil Trythal (Moog synthesizer); The Byrds, The Morris Brothers.
Engineers: Ed Hudson, Freeman Ramsey.
Recorded in 1972. Originally released on Columbia (C 30584). Includes liner notes by Don DeVito.
Personnel includes: Lester Flatt (vocals, guitar); Earl Scruggs (banjo); Paul Warren (vocals, violin); Gary Scruggs (vocals, tambourine); Jake Tullock (vocals); Charlie Daniels, Jerry Shook (12-string guitar); Johnny Johnson (guitar); Buck Graves (dobro); Norbert Putnam (harpsichord, bass); Kenny Buttrey (drums).
Producer: Bob Johnston.
Engineers: Charlie Bragg, Neil Wilburn.
Recorded in 1968. Originally released on Columbia (CS 9741). Includes liner notes by Louise Scruggs.
Personnel: Paul Warren (vocals, violin); Gary Scruggs (vocals, tambourine); Boomer Clarke, Jake Tullock (vocals); Randy Scruggs (guitar, 12-string guitar, dobro); Jerry Shook, Charlie Daniels (12-string guitar); Buck Graves (dobro); Norbert Putnam (harpsichord); Kenny Buttrey (drums).
Directors: Harry Wiland; Dave Hoffman.
Photographer: Dave Hoffman.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Joan Baez; Bob Dylan.
One of Earl Scruggs' best solo albums paired with one of the duo's late LPs, on which Scruggs was the dominant personality. On Nashville Airplane, he an Lester Flatt did four Bob Dylan songs, and on Earl Scruggs: His Family & Friends he worked with Dylan himself, as well as the Byrds, Joan Baez, and Doc Watson. Neither album was ever on CD by itself, and the latter album is worth the cost of the disc by itself for the outstanding performances by Baez, the Byrds, Watson, and, of course, Scruggs himself. ~ Bruce Eder
Collectables Records
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Flatt & Scruggs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,849
  • UPC: 090431647523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country: Bluegrass Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)