Count Basie Basie's Bag (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  TEL 83358

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: January 25, 1994
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.Firm Roots
  • 2.Three in One Blues
  • 3.Hampton Strut
  • 4.For My Lady
  • 5.Way Out Basie
  • 6.Clanks
  • 7.Basie's Bag
  • 8.Here's That Rainy Day
  • 9.Count Basie Remembrance Suite: We Be Jammin' / Transition / Lady Carolyn / State Of The Art Swing

Product Description:

BASIE'S BAG features The Count Basie Orchestra under the direction of saxophonist/arranger Frank Foster, a veteran of the late Count Basie's classic 1950s band.
Recorded in Orchestra Hall, Detroit, Michigan on November 20, 1992.
Count Basie may have died in 1984 but his orchestra continues to roll on without any loss of quality. The 1992 edition was filled with strong soloists and swinging arrangements. Leader Frank Foster wrote most of the charts for this CD (including the fine four-part "Count Basie Remembrance Suite") and allocated solo space to 12 of the 14 horn players. There are good individual features for Kenny Hing on tenor, trombonist Clarence Banks, electric guitarist Charlton Johnson and Foster himself ("Here's That Rainy Day") but it is the strong ensembles that make this a rewarding set. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 94,260
  • UPC: 089408335822
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: