Mozart: Flute Concertos / Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"

Mozart: Flute Concertos / Symphony No. 41
Only 4 copies left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $12 (67% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  TLR 80624
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: January 25, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.I. Allegro Aperto
  • 2.Ii. Andante Ma Non Troppo
  • 3.Iii. Allegro
  • 4.I. Allegro Maestoso
  • 5.Ii. Adagio Non Troppo
  • 6.Iii. Rondo: Tempo Di Menuetto
  • 7.I. Allegro Vivace
  • 8.Ii. Andante Cantabile
  • 9.Iii. Menuetto: Allegretto
  • 10.Iv. Molto Allegro

Product Description:

Mozart notoriously disliked the flute; it's all the more remarkable therefore that he composed two such delightful concerti for the instrument. This CD covers them both, and Jacques Zoon, playing a "period" flute (a copy of an 18th-century instrument, pitched a half-tone lower than normal), offers up both virtuosity and charm, catching the wit of the outer movements (and playing his own, stunning, showy cadenzas) and the warmth of the central movements. His tone is bright without being shrill (and the recording is spectacularly clean and clear), his fast passage work impeccable, his legato song-like and smooth. The Boston Baroque, also, of course, a period instrument band, shine, with the strings never giving way to a hint of scratchiness--always a danger in "historically informed performances." The concerti are followed by Mozart's final symphony, a jubilant work with more mass than most of his symphonies. From the opening, brief motif, which is repeated a moment later after a descending "sigh," it's clear that Maestro Pearlman will not be playing the work daintily. But neither does he overemphasize the work's percussion and brass; indeed this is a superbly balanced reading of this glorious work. The second movement unfolds with elegance and the Menuetto, well, actually swings lyrically. The famous finale, in which five different motifs introduced within the first six or so minutes of the movement meet and exult in a contrapuntal frenzy that is as entertaining as it is complex, is spotlessly played and articulated. This CD is a wonderful hour-and-17 minutes of music. --Robert Levine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Boston Baroque

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,704
  • UPC: 089408062421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)