Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique & Love Scene from "Romeo Et Juliette"

Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique & Love Scene from
6 ratings
13 copies available
Sale: $5.98
CYBER WEEK SALE: $4.19 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $5.79 (58% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  TLR 80578
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium Shipping

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.I. Dreams, Passions / Largo - Allegro Agitato E Appassionato Assai - Tempo I - Religiosamente
  • 2.Ii. A Ball, Valse: Allegro Non Troppo
  • 3.Iii. Scene In The Country: Adagio
  • 4.Iv. March To The Scaffold: Allegretto Non Troppo
  • 5.V. Dream of The Witches' Sabbath: Larghetto / Allegro / Allegro Assai / Allegro / Dies Irae / Ronde Du Sabbat / Dies Irae Et Ronde Du Sabbat
  • 6.Love Scene

Product Description:

The Cincinnati Symphony has always been respected as a solid, second-tier orchestra. But with this disc, as in other recent recordings, it seems like a world-class orchestra that can eat showpieces like Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique for breakfast. The strings are luminous throughout, especially in the Love Scene from Roméo et Juliette, where their golden glow makes Paavo Järvi's graceful interpretation something special. If his Symphonie Fantastique doesn't oust such longtime favorites as the Munch, Paray, and Bernstein recordings, it still stands as one of the best recent versions. It's also blessed with outstanding sonics, which gives depth and transparency to the orchestration. Järvi's reading is not as fervid as those listed above, but in its classicism and concern for long lines, it reminds one of Colin Davis's excellent Philips versions of the score. Pleasurable instrumental details, like the golden shower of harp runs, abound, and there's no lack of energy in the wild close to the Witches' Sabbath movement. This first recording of the Cincinnatians with their new music director is a fine achievement that promises much for the future. --Dan Davis

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.5
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Paavo Järvi

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,340
  • UPC: 089408057823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)