Mozart: Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail (2-CD)

Mozart: Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail (2-CD)
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  TLR 80544
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 27, 2000
  • Label: Telarc

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Overture - Paul Groves
  • 2.Nr. 1 Aria: 'Hier Soll Ich Dich Denn Sehen' - Paul Groves
  • 3.Nr. 1 Dialogue: 'Aber Wie Soll Ich In Den Palast Kommen?' - Paul Groves
  • 4.Nr. 2 Song and Duet: 'Wer Ein Liebchen Hat Gefunden' - Paul Groves
  • 5.Nr. 2 Dialogue: 'Konnt Ich Mir Noch So Einen Schurken' - Paul Groves
  • 6.Nr. 3 Aria: 'Solche Hergelauf'ne Laffen' - Paul Groves
  • 7.Nr. 3 Dialogue: 'Geh Nur, Verwunschter Aufpasser!' - Paul Groves
  • 8.Nr. 4 Recitative and Aria: 'Konstanze! Dich Wiederzusehen!' - Paul Groves
  • 9.Nr. 4 Dialogue: 'Geschwind, Geschwind Auf Die Seite Und Versteckt!' - Paul Groves
  • 10.Nr. 5b Chorus: 'Singt Dem Grossen Bassa Lieder' - Paul Groves
  • 11.Nr. 5b Dialogue: 'Immer Noch Traurig, Geliebte Konstanze?' - Paul Groves
  • 12.Nr. 6 Aria: 'Ach Ich Liebte' - Paul Groves
  • 13.Nr. 6 Dialogue: 'Ihr Schmerz, Ihre Tranen' - Dialogue: 'Triumph, Herr!' - Dialogue: 'Wohin? - Hinein!' - Paul Groves
  • 14.Nr. 7 Trio: 'Marsch, Marsch Marsch!' - Paul Groves
  • 15.Nr. 7 Dialogue: 'O Des Zankens, Befehlens, Und Murrens' - Paul Groves
  • 16.Nr. 8 Aria: 'Durch Zartlichkeit Und Schmeicheln' - Paul Groves
  • 17.Nr. 8 Dialogue: 'Zartlichkeit! Schmeichein!' - Paul Groves
  • 18.Nr. 9 Duet: 'Ich Gehe, Doch Rate Ich Dir' - Paul Groves
  • 19.Nr. 10 Recitative: 'Welcher Wechsel Herrscht In Meiner Seele' - Paul Groves
  • 20.Nr. 10 Aria: 'Traurigkeit Ward Mir Um Lose' - Paul Groves
  • 21.Nr. 10 Dialogue: 'Nun, Konstanze, Denkzt Du Meinem Begehren Nach?' - Paul Groves
  • 22.Nr. 11 Aria: 'Martern Aller Arten' - Paul Groves
  • 23.Nr. 11 Dialogue: 'Ist Das Ein Traum?' - Paul Groves

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Nr. 11 Dialogue: 'Bst, Bst, Blondchen!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 2.Nr. 12 Aria: 'Welche Wonne, Welche Lust' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 3.Nr. 12 Dialogue: 'Ah, Dass Es Schon Vorbei Ware!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 4.Nr. 13 Aria: 'Frisch Zum Kampfe!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 5.Nr. 13 Dialogue: 'Ha! Geht's Hier So Lustig Zu?' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 6.Nr. 14 Duet: 'Vivat Bacchus!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 7.Nr. 14 Dialogue: 'Wein - Wein - Ist Ein Schones Getrank!' - Dialogue: 'Ist Konstanze Noch Nicht Hier?' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 8.Nr. 15 Aria: 'Wenn Der Freude Tranen Fliessen' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 9.Nr. 16 Quartet: 'Ach Belmonte! Ach Mein Leben!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 10.Nr. 17 Aria: 'Ich Baue Ganz Auf Deine Starke' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 11.Dialogue: 'Alles Liegt Auf Dem Ohr' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 12.Nr. 18 Romance: 'In Mohrenland Gefangen War' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 13.Nr. 18 Dialogue: 'Sie Macht Auf, Herr!' - Dialogue: 'Gift und Dolch! Was Ist Das?' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 14.Nr. 19 Aria: 'O, Wie Will Ich Triumphieren' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 15.Nr. 19 Dialogue: 'Was Gibt's, Osmin?' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 16.Nr. 20 Recitative: 'Welch Ein Geschick!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 17.Nr. 20 Duet: 'Meinetwegen Sollst Du Sterben!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 18.Nr. 20 Dialogue: 'Nun, Sklave, Elender Sklave!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 19.Nr. 21a Vaudeville: 'Nie Werd' Ich Deine Huld Verkennen' - Nr. 21b Chorus: 'Bassa Selim Lebe Lange!' - Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 20.Nr. 15 Aria: 'Wenn Der Freude Tranen Fliessen' - (Long Version) - Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Product Description:

Sir Charles Mackerras's approach to Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Mozart's first true success, is somewhere right of William Christie's airy, original-instrument performance on Erato and left of some older-fashioned readings, such as Georg Solti's on Decca (alas, currently out of print). Mackerras's band plays modern instruments, but the touch is very light and tempi are fleet. Furthermore, he pares the dialogue to a minimum and so the show goes by without any tedium. The singing is a mixed bag. Paul Groves makes a classy Belmonte, Désirée Rancatore's Blonde is as good as any, and Lynton Atkinson copes amazing well with Pedrillo's helden-lyrische-tenor music. Peter Rose's voice is far from the basso profundo that always pleases in the role of Osmin, but he has all the notes and all the attitude without ever resorting to vulgarity. Oliver Tobias speaks the Pasha's lines with dramatic thrust. The real problem comes with the otherwise unknown Turkish sopranoYelda Kodalli's Konstanze--it's tonally and dramatically undistinguished, trill-free, too light, and not always exactly in tune. The good news is that her singing is always spirited. Given the available options, you should probably go with Christie or Bruno Weil (not to mention Solti), but this is far from bad. --Robert Levine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sir Charles Mackerras

Product Info

  • UPC: 089408054426
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)