Brahms: Serenade No. 1 In D, And No. 2 In A

Brahms: Serenade No. 1 In D, And No. 2 In A
9 ratings
12 copies available
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34GXJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.I. Allegro Molto
  • Buy for $0.992.Ii. Scherzo: Allegro Non Troppo
  • 3.Iii. Adagio Non Troppo
  • Buy for $0.994.Iv. Menuetto 1; Menuetto 2
  • Buy for $0.995.V. Scherzo: Allegro
  • Buy for $0.996.Vi. Rondo: Allegro
  • Buy for $0.997.I. Allegro Moderato
  • Buy for $0.998.Ii. Scherzo: Vivace
  • Buy for $0.999.Iii. Adagio Non Troppo
  • Buy for $0.9910.Iv. Quasi Menuetto
  • Buy for $0.9911.V. Rondo: Allegro

Product Description:

In this follow-up to his provocative cycle of the Brahms symphonies with the same ensemble, Sir Charles Mackerras once again shows that doing things according to received ideas about the music and how it should sound--"tradition," if you will--is simply not his cup of tea. His traversal of the symphonies was provocative in part because he did it with a chamber-orchestra sized string complement, hoping to recapture the balance and sonic weight of an orchestra of Brahms's day, specifically the Meiningen Court Orchestra, which premiered the Fourth Symphony. While that raised some eyebrows, tackling the two serenades with a chamber orchestra makes perfect sense, since both works were written for the modest forces of the court orchestra at Detmold. Lively, lean-textured, and expressive, these accounts comfortably straddle the divide between chamber music and symphonism, thereby allowing a privileged view into the composer's heart-of-hearts. Mackerras lets us see that while the grandeur of the symphonies is impressive, there is even more of the true Brahms--intimate, ardent, and soulful--right here in the serenades. --Ted Libbey

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Sir Charles Mackerras

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,150
  • UPC: 089408052224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)