Rozsa: Concerto for Cello Op. 32, Concerto for violin Op. 24

Rozsa: Concerto for Cello Op. 32, Concerto for
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $12 (67% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  TLR 80518
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.I. Allegro Non Troppo Na Passionato
  • Buy for $0.992.Ii. Lento Cantabile
  • Buy for $0.993.Iii. Allegro Vivace
  • 4.I. Moderato
  • Buy for $0.995.Ii. Lento Congrande Expressione
  • Buy for $0.996.Iii. Allegro Vivo
  • 7.Theme and Variations For Violin, Cello and Orchestra, Op. 29a

Product Description:

Like other European composers of his generation, Miklós Rósza, born in Hungary in 1907, found political and creative sanctuary in Hollywood, where he wrote concert music and many notable film scores. These three works clearly show that he never lost his roots in his native folk music. The violin concerto, a lush, romantic piece, was written at the urging of Jascha Heifetz and is tailored to his and his instrument's strengths, with singing, soaring melodies, brilliant passage work, and a very effective cadenza. Later, Heifetz and cellist Gregor Piatigorsky asked Rósza to write a piece for them; the "Theme and Variations" is the slow movement of a longer work. It is beautifully written for both instruments; based on a Hungarian melody, the variations are wonderfully inventive and varied in mood, character, and expression. The Cello Concerto too is extremely difficult and virtuosic, often quite wild and aggressive, and full of contrasts. The orchestration is excellent throughout, but not too heavy. The performances could not be better: McDuffie and Harrell surmount all the formidable technical challenges easily, their tone shimmers and glows, and their heartfelt but always refined expressiveness brings out the best in these unjustly neglected works. --Edith Eisler

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Yoel Levi

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,174
  • UPC: 089408051821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)