Willie Nelson Stardust [30th Anniversary Legacy Edition] (2-CD)

Stardust [30th Anniversary Legacy Edition] (2-CD)
300 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  WGW3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 30, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 3/00, p.122
3 stars out of 5 - "...the first and best attempt by a contemporary artist to update...The Great American Songbook....not merely accessible but irresistible..."
Uncut - 3/00, p.78
4 stars out of 5 - "...STARDUST sounds better than ever..."
Dirty Linen - 2-3/00, pp.63,65
"...an album of classic American songs that just about everybody has heard....Nelson says that these Tin Pan Alley tunes are his all time favorite songs and, it seems that he and the band enjoyed playing them..."
Dirty Linen - 2-3/00, pp.63,65
"...an album of classic American songs that just about everybody has heard....Nelson says that these Tin Pan Alley tunes are his all time favorite songs and, it seems that he and the band enjoyed playing them..."
Q (Magazine) - p.120
4 stars out of 5 -- "In 1978 willie Nelson teamed up with producer Booker T Jones to record a whole album of Tin Pan Alley standards....It shouldn't have worked, but it did, giving him one of the biggest-selling albums of his career."
Record Collector (magazine) - pp.92-93
4 stars out of 5 -- "Nelson invests each song with a relaxed, stately tone that feels loose and jazzy, yet also makes the most out of the melody."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Stardust
  • 2.Georgia On My Mind
  • 3.Blue Skies
  • 4.All of Me
  • 5.Unchained Melody
  • 6.September Song
  • 7.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 8.Moonlight In Vermont
  • 9.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 10.Someone To Watch Over Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.What a Wonderful World
  • 2.Basin Street Blues
  • 3.I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  • 4.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  • 5.The Gypsy
  • 6.Mona Lisa
  • 7.Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
  • 8.Ole Buttermilk Sky
  • 9.That Lucky Old Sun
  • 10.Little Things Mean a Lot
  • 11.Cry
  • 12.You'll Never Know
  • 13.Tenderly
  • 14.Stormy Weather
  • 15.One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)
  • 16.Angel Eyes

Product Description:

Personnel: Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Jody Payne (guitar); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Bobbie Nelson (piano); Booker T. Jones (organ); Bee Spears, Chris Ethridge (bass); Paul English, Rex Ludwig (drums).
Producer: Booker T. Jones.
Reissue producer: Al Quaglieri.
Includes liner notes by Mickey Raphael, Booker T. Jones and Willie Nelson.
Digitally remastered by Chris Athens (Sterling Sound, New York, New York).
This is part of Legacy's American Milestones series.
Personnel: Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Ray Charles (vocals); Freddy Powers (guitar, fiddle); Chips Moman, J.R. Cobb, Johnny Christopher (guitar, background vocals); Don Potter, Grady Martin, Jody Payne, Larry Byrom, Reggie Young , Steve Gibson (guitar); Don Porter (guitars); Sonny Garrish (steel guitar); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Booker T. Jones (piano, organ); Bobbie Nelson, Bobby Ogdin (piano); Bobby Wood (keyboards, drums, background vocals); Mark Yeary, Don Hass, Bill Ginn, Bobby Emmons (keyboards); Chris Ethridge, Mike Leech, Bee Spears (bass guitar); Bob Scott (drums, percussion); Rex Ludwick, Rex Ludwig, Gene Chrisman, Ritchie Albright, Eddie Bayers, Biff Adam, Paul English (drums); Billy Gene English, Farrell Morris (percussion); D. Bergen White, Tony Wine, Lenaye Stanfield, Andy Black, Monique Moman, Sherrill Parks, Karen Taylor-Good, Rick Yancey, Toni Wine, Casey Moman (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (12/03/1977-12/12/1977).
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Charlyn Zlotnik; Beverly Parker.
15 years before Tony Bennett made the Great American Songbook safe for the MTV generation, there was Willie Nelson's STARDUST, one of the greatest "crossover" albums in history. The concept was simple: Willie singing a select group of familiar standards by composers such as Carmichael, Berlin, Weill, Ellington, the Gershwins, all in his familiar and inimitable style. Yet the result is not a quite a country treatment of these tunes. For one thing, the great R&B organist Booker T. Jones produced the session in addition to performing with Nelson's superb band featuring the estimable Mickey Raphael on harmonica. One of the enduring pleasures of STARDUST is the interplay between hushed organ, keening harmonica and Nelson's own stately gut-string guitar as well as his beautifully measured, plaintive singing.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 300 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Willie Nelson

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972908724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)