David Axelrod The Axelrod Chronicles

The Axelrod Chronicles
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FAN 9685
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: June 20, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Fantasy

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 12/00, p.221
"...Less overtly bizarre...combining 1974's HEAVY AXE...and fusion sessions with the tenor saxman Gene Ammons and pianist Hampton Hawes


  • 1.Get up Off Your Knees
  • 2.Cast Your Fate to the Wind
  • 3.You're So Vain
  • 4.My Family
  • 5.Mucho Chupar
  • 6.Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing
  • 7.It Ain't For You
  • 8.Everything Counts
  • 9.Cantaro
  • 10.Solitario
  • 11.Gonna Give Lovin' a Try
  • 12.Stayin' Place
  • 13.Quit It
  • 14.Bach
  • 15.Sierra Morena
  • 16.Goodbye, So Long

Product Description:

THE AXELROD CHRONICLES features the album HEAVY AXE (1974), as well as collaborations with other artists from that period.
Personnel includes: David Axelrod, George Duke, Johnny "Guitar" Watson, Joe Williams, Randy Crawford.
Producers include: Julian "Cannonball" Adderley, Orrin Keepnews, David Axelrod.
Includes liner notes by Brian Cross.
All tracks are digitally remastered.
Personnel: David Axelrod (recorder); Olga James, Fleming Williams, Sherwood Sledge, Jessie Richardson, Billie Barnum, Donald Dandridge, Joseph Powell, Michael Gray, Stephanie Spruill, Mortonette Jenkins, Charles May (vocals); Billy Fender, Donald Peake, Michael Howell (guitar); Jerome Reisler, Alexander Neiman, Jack Shulman, Henry Roth (violin); Walter Rower (cello); Jackie Kelso (flute, alto flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); William Green (flute, alto flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jay Migliori (flute, alto flute, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Jim Horn (alto flute, baritone saxophone); Prince Lasha (alto flute); Gene Ammons (tenor saxophone); Allen DeRienzo, Oscar Brashear, Snooky Young (trumpet); Dick Hyde, George Bohannon (trombone); George Duke (piano, electric piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Rudy Copeland (Moog synthesizer); Carol Kaye (electric bass); John Guerin, Roy McCurdy (drums); King Errisson (congas); Kenneth Nash (percussion).
Recording information: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (03/1974-10/1973).
Arranger: David Axelrod .
Released in 2000, this David Axelrod compilation features the 1974 album HEAVY AXE in its entirety, along with other sessions from that era by the innovative L.A.-based producer/arranger/conductor. The disc largely consists of funky soul-jazz (see the lively opener, "Get Up Off Your Knees"), with notable contributions from artists such as Johnny "Guitar" Watson and saxophonists Gene Ammons and Cannonball Adderley. (The latter, a frequent Axelrod collaborator who passed away in 1975, produced many of these tracks.) For listeners seeking top-notch mid-'70s Axelrod material, this is an excellent point of departure.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for David Axelrod

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218968522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)