Joe Locke Slander (And Other Love Songs)

Slander (And Other Love Songs)
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FAN 9284
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: November 10, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Milestone


  • 1.Song For Cables
  • 2.Saturn's Child
  • 3.Tuesday Heartbreak
  • 4.Mission Impossible
  • 5.Blue
  • 6.Cecil B. Debop
  • 7.Slander
  • 8.Can't Help Falling in Love
  • 9.Second Story Man

Product Description:

Personnel: Joe Locke (vibraphone); Vic Juris (guitar); BIlly Childs (piano); Rufus Reid (bass); Gene Jackson (drums).
Personnel: Joe Locke (vibraphone); Vic Juris (guitar); Billy Childs (piano); Gene Jackson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Derek Richardson.
Recording information: Clinton Recording Studios, New York, NY.
Editor: Katherine Miller.
Photographer: David Tan.
"Song for Cables" opens this album with a hard-driving complexity that instantly grabs the listener, with Billy Childs punching out a powerful McCoy Tyner chordal bed over which vibist Locke struts his stuff. From this auspicious beginning, Slander moves through a wide range of moods and tempos. "Saturn's Child" is a beautiful ballad, while Stevie Wonder's "Tuesday Heartbreak" is performed in an arrangement reminiscent of Herbie Hancock's treatment of contemporary material on The New Standard. In the hands of Locke and Childs, Joni Mitchell's "Blue" is surprisingly effective as a jazz ballad. The set-closing "Second Story Man" takes a straight-ahead ride on electric piano and vibes. Electric guitarist Vic Juris is featured on several cuts, establishing himself as an impressive presence. Locke's originals offer attractive melodies and interesting rhythmic shifts, and the group works well together throughout this highly recommended recording. ~ Jim Newsom

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Locke

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,702
  • UPC: 025218928427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)