Steve Berrios First World

First World
Only 4 copies left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FAN 9234
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Milestone

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 10/95, p.101
" of the hottest and deepest Latin jazz records of the year....he blends the folkloric with the modern and takes it all somewhere fresh. A master of intricate rhythms...Berrios inspires his shrug off the expected and cut a new path....exhilarating music that gets meatier with every listen."


  • 1.Mafranbingo
  • 2.La Buena Noche Mi Ngo
  • 3.Once I Loved
  • 4.El Nino Rey
  • 5.Talkin' to Myself
  • 6.Iremowire
  • 7.Uranus
  • 8.Brushin' It
  • 9.Once in a While
  • 10.Alamofije
  • 11.Deja Voodoo
  • 12.Dale
  • 13.Lonely Woman / Acolona
  • 14.Wild Is the Wind
  • 15.Son Bacheche

Product Description:

Steve Berrios & Son Bacheche includes: Steve Berrios, Eddie Henderson, Joe Ford, Peter Brainin, Papo Vasquez, Grover Washington, Jr., Freddy Cole, Larry Willis, George Mraz, John Benitez, Edgardo Miranda, Pedro Morejon, Julito Collazo, Eddie Bobe, Elisabeth Monder.
Recorded in November 1994.
A veteran mainstay with Mongo Santamaria, M'Boom, and the Fort Apache Band, Steve Berrios' first solo album finds the then-49-year-old drummer-percussionist trying to make up lost ground with a vengeance, throwing a bewildering variety of idioms at the listener and proving to be a master of all of 'em. "Mafranbingo" throws Berrios' listeners a misleading curve at the outset with some straight-ahead hard bop, but the very next track "La Buena Noche Mi Ngo" -- Spanish vocals over African percussion -- sets the Afro-Latin direction for much of the recording. Berrios isn't too shy about taking the spotlight himself, for "Talkin' to Myself" he has a spectacular rolling percussion solo with tympani and gongs along with the usual drums, and "Brushin' It" finds him performing a brief yet most inventive solo with brushes on three snare drums spread across the stereo spectrum. He even plays some noteworthy muted trumpet on "Wild Is the Wind." The sole sidetrip to Brazil, Jobim's "Once I Loved," features singer Freddy Cole sounding and phrasing very much like an aged Nat King Cole might have -- as well as Grover Washington's pretty soprano sax obligatos. "Iremowire" and "Alamofije" are pure bedrock Afro-Cuban call and response numbers with Cuban singer Julito Collazo making what was apparently his first commercial recorded appearance in two decades. Trumpeter Eddie Henderson, tenor saxophonist Peter Brainin, and alto player Joe Ford can be heard on "Uranus" and a densely-textured, lost-sounding fusion of Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman," and an ancient Yoruban prayer, "Acolona." Quite an order, but the experienced Berrios makes it come together. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,180
  • UPC: 025218923422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)