Big Joe Turner Joe Turner / Rockin' The Blues

Joe Turner / Rockin' The Blues
10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6419
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 8055 (1957)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 8023 (1958)

Description by

The two complete albums from the vaults of Atlantic on this single compact disc feature over seventy-three minutes of blues classics. You'll also be treated to the original version of "Shake, Rattle and Roll" and other blues gems sung the Big Joe Turner way.


  • 1.Shake, Rattle & Roll
  • 2.Flip, Flop & Fly
  • 3.Feeling Happy
  • 4.Well All Right
  • 5.The Chicken And The Hawk
  • 6.Boogie Woodie Country Girl
  • 7.Honey Hush
  • 8.Corrine Corrina
  • 9.Midnight Special Train
  • 10.Hide And Seek
  • 11.Oke-She-Moke-She-Pop
  • 12.Crawdad Hole
  • 13.Sweet Sixteen
  • 14.Chains Of Love
  • 15.We're Gonna Jump For Joy
  • 16.Teen Age Letter
  • 17.Love Roller Coaster
  • 18.Lipstick Powder And Paint
  • 19.Morning Noon And Night
  • 20.I Need A Girl
  • 21.Red Sails In The Sunset
  • 22.Blues In The Night
  • 23.After A While
  • 24.World Of Trouble
  • 25.Trouble In Mind
  • 26.Tv Mama
  • 27.You Know I Love You
  • 28.Still In Love

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: JOE TURNER (1957)/ROCKIN' BLUES (1958).
Includes original release liner notes by Guy Remark & Gary Kramer.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Presenting both JOE TURNER and ROCKIN' THE BLUES on one CD, this Collectables compilation is a quality double shot of Big Joe Turner's late-1950s output for Atlantic Records. Among the 28 tracks featured are the raucous "Shake, Rattle & Roll" (made famous by Bill Haley & the Comets), the boisterous "Well All Right," and the uplifting "The Chicken and the Hawk," all marked by careening piano lines and swinging rhythms. The latter part of the disc finds Turner balancing rock & roll tunes with straight-up blues numbers, belting out classics such as the heartsick "Chains of Love" and the melancholy "Trouble in Mind." Every song here benefits from Turner's commanding voice, which carries a sound as large as his massive frame. Although Turner's earlier recordings may have been more influential, these sessions, some of his last for Atlantic, showcase the vocalist as a seasoned performer at the top of his game.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Big Joe Turner

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,319
  • UPC: 090431641927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

From the Vaults of Atlantic Records Product Series:

Oldies: Rock 'N' Roll Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)