Chicago Stone of Sisyphus: XXXII

Stone of Sisyphus: XXXII
98 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WHG4
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 17, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.Stone of Sisyphus - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Bigger Than Elvis - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.All the Years - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Mah-Jong - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.Sleeping In the Middle of the Bed - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.Let's Take a Lifetime - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Pull, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Here With Me (A Candle For the Dark) - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Plaid - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Cry For the Lost - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Show Must Go On, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Love is Forever - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Mah-Jong - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Let's Take a Lifetime - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Stone of Sisyphus - (remix, previously unreleased, alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel: James Pankow (vocals, trombone); Bill Champlin, Robert Lamm (vocals, keyboards, background vocals); Sheldon Reynolds, Bruce Gaitsch (guitar); Tris Imboden (harmonica, drums, percussion); Walter Parazaider (woodwinds, background vocals); Lee Loughnane (trumpet, flugelhorn, background vocals); Peter Wolf (keyboards, keyboard bass); Joseph "Gospel Joe" Williams, Jason Scheff, The Jordanaires (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
Audio Remasterer: Dave Donnelly .
Audio Remixers: Peter Wolf ; Paul Ericksen.
Liner Note Author: Bill DeYoung.
Recording information: Embassy Sutdios, Simi Valley, CA (1993); Nashville, TN (1993).
Photographers: Jimmy Katz; Paul Ericksen.
Arranger: Peter Wolf .
Among followers of Chicago's latter-day works, STONE OF SISYPHUS developed its own mythology over the years. It was recorded in 1993, and was originally slated to follow the TWENTY 1 album, but disputes between the band and their label resulted in the project being shelved. Several tracks leaked out here and there over the years on bootlegs, compilations, and box sets, but it wasn't until 15 years later that the album was officially released in its entirety, at which point it was subtitled XXXII. The story that the label deemed the material non-viable seems unfounded, as these tracks are very much in keeping with the band's other albums of the era. Big production, massive pop hooks, and Bill Champlin's soulful vocals define most of the cuts, and despite an ill-advised rap on "Sleeping in the Middle of the Bed," there's little kowtowing to the trends of the time. It's perhaps not the great long-lost treasure fans may have hoped for, but it surely won't be a disappointment to them.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 98 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chicago

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,554
  • UPC: 081227993016
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)