Willis Jackson Keep On A Blowin'

Keep On A Blowin'
2 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A7H6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • JKCD product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, or prior sale stickers.
  • Released: July 13, 1999
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Keep on A-Blowin'
  • 2.How Deep Is the Ocean?
  • 3.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 4.Blue Strollin'
  • 5.The Man I Love
  • 6.A Smooth One
  • 7.Thunderbird
  • 8.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • 9.Back and Forth
  • 10.California Sun
  • 11.Body and Soul
  • 12.A Penny Serenade

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: KEEP ON A BLOWIN' (1960)/THUNDERBIRD (1962).
Personnel: Willis Jackson (tenor saxophone); Jack McDuff, Freddie Roach (Hammond B-3 Organ); Bill Jennings (guitar); Milt Hinton, Wendell Marshall, Tommy Potter (bass); Alvin Johnson, Frank Shea (drums); Buck Clarke, Ray Barretto (congas).
Engineers include: Rudy Van Gelder.
Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs and Hackensack, New Jersey and Music Makers Studio, New York, New York. KEEP ON A BLOWIN' originally released on Prestige (7172) in 1960; THUNDERBIRD originally released on Prestige (7232) in 1962. Includes liner notes by Dale Wright and LeRoi Jones.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1999, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Willis "Gator" Jackson (tenor saxophone); Bill Jennings (guitar); Freddie Roach, Jack McDuff (organ); Frank Shea , Alvin Johnson (drums); Buck Clarke, Ray Barretto (congas).
Recording information: Nj (05/25/1959-02/26/1960).
In 1999, Fantasy reissued two of Willis Jackson's old Prestige LPs, Keep on a Blowin' (1959-60) and Thunderbird (1962), on this 78-minute CD for its Legends of Acid Jazz series. Spanning 1959-62, this reissue looks back on what was a very exciting period for the big-toned, breathy tenor man, who had moved away from the honking and screaming he had done in the late 1940s and early 1950s and had reinvented himself as a more mature provider of organ-combo soul-jazz. While Keep on a Blowin' (which features a young Jack McDuff on organ) is a straight-ahead collection of blues, ballads (including "How Deep Is the Ocean"), and standards, parts of Thunderbird (which employs Freddie Roach on the Hammond B-3) are more commercial and rock & roll-minded. But even on a remake of the surf rock ditty "California Sun," Jackson doesn't lose his jazzman's sense of improvisation. "The Man I Love" from Keep on a Blowin' is a real surprise -- Jackson begins the Gershwin standard as a lush ballad before unexpectedly switching to a fast tempo and approaching it as 200 mile-an-hour bop. This consistently rewarding CD is highly recommended. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Willis Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218521826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)