Lu Watters Blues Over Bodega

Blues Over Bodega
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FAN 12066
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Good Time Jazz


  • 1.San Andreas Fault
  • 2.See See Rider
  • 3.The Villain
  • 4.Some of These Days
  • 5.Blues Over Bodega
  • 6.Willie the Weeper
  • 7.Pork and Beans
  • 8.San Francisco Bay Blues
  • 9.Emperor Norton's Hunch

Product Description:

Lu Watters Jazz Band: Lu Watters (trumpet); Barbara Dane (vocals); Bob Mielke (trombone); Bob Short (tuba, bass); Bob Helm (clarinet); Wally Rose (piano); Monte Ballou (banjo); Thad Vandan (drums).
Recorded at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California in 1963. Originally released on Fantasy (5016). Includes liner notes by David Pesonen.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1999, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Lu Watters (trumpet); Barbara Dane (vocals); Monte Ballou (banjo); Bob Helm (clarinet); Bob Mielke (trombone); Bob Short (tuba); Wally Rose (piano); Thad Vandan (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Author: Jim Cullum Jazz Band.
Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francicso, CA (1963); Coast Recorders;San Fransisco (1963); San Francisco, CA (1963).
Nearly 14 years after he retired from music, trumpeter Lu Watters came out of retirement to musically protest the proposed building of a nuclear power plant on the San Andreas Fault. In addition to a few concerts with his former trombonist Turk Murphy, Watters recorded this lone Fantasy LP. After the nuclear project was shelved, Watters went back into permanent retirement. Surprisingly he is heard in prime form throughout this excellent set, leading a septet that also includes trombonist Bob Mielke, clarinetist Bob Helm, and pianist Wally Rose through such numbers as "Some of These Days," "Emperor Norton's Hunch," and his new pieces "San Andreas Fault" and "Blues Over Bodega." Blues singer Barbara Dane helps out a couple of songs. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lu Watters

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218126625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)