Ron Affif Solotude

2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FAN 2310965
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Pablo

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 5/00, pp.184-5
"...[Affif] prevails by playing what he feels rather than being overly concerned with style and method. Overall, he takes a straightforward approach that focuses on melody supported by well-considered harmonies, while still executing some serious licks....satisfying..."


  • 1.Mark
  • 2.Autumn in New York
  • 3.Charene
  • 4.Dolphin Dance
  • 5.I Love You
  • 6.I've Never Been in Love Before
  • 7.Holly
  • 8.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 9.But Beautiful
  • 10.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 11.All the Things You Are
  • 12.My Romance
  • 13.They Can't Take That Away From Me

Product Description:

Solo performer: Ron Affif (acoustic & electric guitars).
Recorded at ALB Studios, Burbank, California and Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California between May 1998 & January 1999. Includes liner notes by Ron Affif & Ron Anthony.
For 13 tracks (ten standards and three originals), Ron Affif plays some of the most beautiful solo guitar you will ever hear. He's on nylon six-string acoustic for four numbers, electric guitar for the rest. All feature his patient, measured tones, easygoing but stretching the parameters of many of these quite familiar themes. The best of his extrapolations comes on a Kenny Kirkland-inspired version of "Dolphin Dance," where bass and higher-pitched strings converse in a nice groove; the swinging "I Love You," where Affif extends the melody and embellishes on it; and the best swinger, "They Can't Take That Away from Me," where he expertly mixes single lines and chords in an almost dutiful manner. He wittily uses a half-speed approach to phrase "Honeysuckle Rose"; uses an admitted Joe Pass-ified style on "I've Never Been in Love Before"; and drenches "What Is This Thing Called Love?," "All the Things You Are," and "My Romance" with sheets of reverence and reserve. The originals "Mark" (for his older bro), "Charene," and "Holly" have similar qualities of virtue and understanding, the first a soulful ballad, the second a romantic piece as if Affif were a serenading gondolier, and the third a tender rendering for a long loved one. "Autumn in New York" and "But Beautiful" also are marked with an abstinence of freneticism, and nicely understated. If the world has not yet picked up on Affif's ability as a first-rate guitarist, this should do the trick, for the young at heart and the lover in all of us. Highly recommended. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,013
  • UPC: 025218096522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)