Peter Leitch Trio / Quartet '91

Trio / Quartet '91
1 rating
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COJ 4480
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: July 26, 2004
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Concord Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 1/92, p.32
4.5 Stars - Very Good Plus - "...clean-toned, fat- body guitar and clean-tooled, imaginative lines....His phrasing defies guitaristic cliches and reflects a horn player's flexibility....impressive and well-rounded project..."


  • 1.Bitty Ditty
  • 2.Sweet and Lovely
  • 3.Tones For Joan's Bones
  • 4.All Too Soon
  • 5.After the Morning
  • 6.Inner Urge
  • 7.Borrowed Time
  • 8.Winter's Tale
  • 9.The Song Is You
  • 10.When Will I See You Again
  • 11.Spring Is Here - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Peter Leitch (guitar); John Swana (trumpet, flugelhorn); Neil Swainson (bass); Marvin "Smitty" Smith (drums).
Peter Leitch offers further proof of his stature in the pantheon of mainstream jazz guitarists as he expands the frontiers of bop guitar on this 1991 release. Citing Joe Pass, Jim Hall, Jimmy Raney, and, in particular, the Belgian guitarist Ren‚ Thomas as key influences, Leitch builds on this foundation with fresh ideas about chords, harmony, and use of solo space. The CD comprises standards, originals, and works from key figures in post-bop jazz. Leitch's sophistication, facility, and cool-toned probing are at their most rewarding on the more contemporary pieces. His design is best revealed on his composition "Winter's Tale," an impressionistic piece of tightly knotted chords that resolve in gorgeous harmonies, and stiff uphill-pedaling rhythms that set up passages of free-fall release. Drummer Marvin "Smitty" Smith is prominent throughout. Initially, he seems to be overplaying, but then comes the realization that, like Leitch, he is pushing out on the boundaries of what can be done with the repertoire. Still, it takes a few listening to gain an appreciation for his hyperactive virtuosity in the context of standards such as "Sweet and Lovely" and "Spring Is Here." The fine trumpet and fl?gelhorn player John Swana performs on three tracks, but the real interest here is the guitarist's interaction with Smith and bassist Neil Swainson. ~ Jim Todd

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peter Leitch

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431448020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)