Rosemary Clooney Girl Singer

Girl Singer
9 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WHK7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Concord Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 7/92, p.40
3.5 Stars - Good Plus - "...her profound professionalism never precludes her wearing her big heart on her taffeta sleeve...neatly mixes 14 standards and surprises..."
Village Voice (2/2/93, p.78) - "...The seemingly effortless jazz-pop big band vocal albums of the '50s and early '60s, now fetishized by audiences first discovering Riddle and May, are gloriously recalled by this nearly impeccable set..."


  • 1.Nice 'N' Easy
  • 2.Sweet Kentucky Ham
  • 3.Autumn in New York
  • 4.Miss Otis Regrets
  • 5.Let There Be Love
  • 6.Lovers After All
  • 7.From This Moment On
  • 8.More Than You Know
  • 9.Wave
  • 10.We Fell in Love Anyway
  • 11.Ellington Medley: It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) / I'm Checking Out (Goombye)
  • 12.Of Course It's Crazy
  • 13.Straighten up and Fly Right
  • 14.The Best Is Yet to Come

Product Description:

Personnel: Rosemary Clooney (vocals); John Oddo (piano, synthesizer); Tim May (guitar); Tom Warrington (bass); Joe LaBarbera (drums); Joe Porcaro (percussion).
Recorded at Group IV Recording Studios, Hollywood, California in November & December 1991. Includes liner notes by Linda Rondstadt.
This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.
This CD differs a bit from Rosemary Clooney's previous Concord albums. For the first time, tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton is not in the supporting cast and Clooney is joined by a big band. She celebrates the legacy of the "girl singers" of the swing era in style although some of the selections (such as Dave Frishberg's "Sweet Kentucky Ham," "Let There Be Love" and "Wave") were certainly not around during the big-band era. With such soloists as trumpeter Warren Luening, trombonist Chauncey Welsch, flutist Gary Foster and tenors Bob Cooper and Pete Christlieb having short spots, Clooney performs a fine program which alternates light swingers with ballads. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rosemary Clooney

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 117,228
  • UPC: 013431100867
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)