Rahsaan Roland Kirk Case of The 3-Sided Dream In Audio Color

Case of The 3-Sided Dream In Audio Color
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6344
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.117
4 stars out of 5 - "Kirk explores everything from ragtime and blues to fusion and free jazz, though significantly, each stylistic shift bears his own inimitable musical imprimatur."


  • 1.Conversation
  • 2.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 3.Horses
  • 4.High Heel Sneakers
  • 5.Dream
  • 6.Echoes of Primitive Ohio & Chili Dogs
  • 7.The Entertainer
  • 8.Freaks For The Festival
  • 9.Dream
  • 10.Portrait Of Those Beautiful Ladies
  • 11.Dream
  • 12.The Entertainer
  • 13.Dream
  • 14.Portrait Of Those Beautiful Ladies
  • 15.Dream
  • 16.Freaks For The Festival
  • 17.Horses
  • 18.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 19.Conversation
  • 20.Side Four

Product Description:

Also available in a 2-CD set with Yusef Lateef's PART OF THE SEARCH.
Personnel: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (tenor & bass saxophones, flute, trumpet, strichaphone, manzello); Pat Patrick (baritone saxophone); Arthur Jenkins, Hilton Ruiz, Richard Tee (keyboards); Cornell Dupree, Keith Loving, Hugh McCracken (guitar); Francisco Centeno, Metathias Pearson, Bill Salter (bass); Sonny Brown, Steven Gadd, John Goldsmith (drums); Lawrence Killian (congas); Ralph MacDonald (percussion).
Recorded at Regent Sound Studios, New York. Includes liner notes by Rahsaan Roland Kirk.
Personnel includes: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (saxophone); Richard Tee, Steve Gadd, Hugh McCracken.
Personnel: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (flute, stritch, manzello, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone, trumpet); Cornell Dupree, Keith Loving, Hugh McCracken (guitar); Pat Patrick (baritone saxophone); Arthur Jenkins, Jr., Hilton Ruiz, Richard Tee, Arthur Jenkins (keyboards); John Goldsmith, Sonny Brown, Steve Gadd (drums); Ralph MacDonald (congas, percussion); Lawrence Killian (congas); Milt Grayson (computer); Tom Clack, Robert "Lip" Liftin (sound effects).
Audio Remixer: Robert "Lip" Liftin.
Liner Note Author: Rahsaan Roland Kirk.
Recording information: Regent Sound STudios, New York, NY.
Arrangers: Arthur Jenkins, Jr.; Rahsaan Roland Kirk; Arthur Jenkins .
From its typically grandiloquent title to its unique structure--the original vinyl album did have three sides, with the fourth left blank--this 1975 album is one of Rahsaan Roland Kirk's all-time classics. SGT. PEPPER-style concept albums are a rarity in jazz, with most jazz concept records based on thematically similar songs or arrangements, which makes Kirk's extended reverie on dreams, lost youth, and jazz history that much more impressive. This album is structured like a Mobius strip, with several songs appearing twice in wildly different arrangements and contexts (there's even a 20-second tape of a movie stampede called "Horses [Monogram/Republic]" that appears later played backwards and titled "Sesroh"), and studded with spoken-word interludes all titled "Dream." THE CASE OF THE THREE-SIDED DREAM IN AUDIO COLOR is simultaneously nostalgic and forward-looking, with the heartbreaking original "Echoes of Primitive Ohio and Chili Dogs" and the stunning Scott Joplin tribute "The Entertainer (Done in the Style of the Blues)" as its melancholy centerpieces.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Rahsaan Roland Kirk

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431634424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)