War Evolutionary / Greatest Hits (2-CD)

Evolutionary / Greatest Hits (2-CD)
15 copies available
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $1.39 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  39F8S
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 19, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Avenue Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.L.A. Sunshine (with Cheech & Chong)
  • 2.Mamacita
  • 3.It's Our Right
  • 4.Just Like Us
  • 5.Inspiration
  • 6.Scream
  • 7.This Funky Music
  • 8.Outer Space
  • 9.WAR
  • 10.Bounce

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.All Day Music
  • 2.Slippin' Into Darkness
  • 3.The World Is A Ghetto
  • 4.The Cisco Kid
  • 5.Gypsy Man
  • 6.Me And Baby Brother
  • 7.Southern Part Of Texas
  • 8.Why Can't We Be Friends?
  • 9.Low Rider
  • 10.Summer

Product Description:

Recording information: Ocean Way Recording; Resonate: Music + Sound; The Village Recorder; Total Access Recording; Universal Music Publishing Studio.
Illustrator: Craig Nelson.
Photographer: Gary Soto.
Though War have been a consistent touring entity in the 21st century, they haven't released an album of new studio material since 1994's Peace Sign. During the silence, four of its original five members left to form the Lowrider Band, with only lead vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Lonnie Jordan remaining. (Conceptualist, arranger, co-songwriter, and co-producer Jerry Goldstein also remains part of the equation.) Musically, the studio group behind Jordan continues to meld funk, jazz, soul, Latin, and rock. Set-opener "That L.A. Sunshine" is a different tune from their iconic "L.A. Sunshine," but the title's reference is deliberate. This is a smooth, contemporary, jazzy funk number, with bright, breezy overtones; it's well-chosen as a single. The USC Trojan Marching Band lend syncopated, chunky brass to the bottom, and L.A. Fats adds a guest rap. A bonus version adds Cheech & Chong in classic dialogue style to the mix. The Tower of Power Horns and Eagles' guitarist Joe Walsh aid the band on "Mamacita," a knotty fusion of cumbian funk and reggae. There are two medleys here. The first is a lengthy, jazz-funk jam that features a previously unrecorded composition by the original band -- "It's Our Right " -- with a new tune -- Funky Tonk" -- an instrumental tag written by Jordan and Goldstein, grafted on and stretching it to over nine minutes. It's the best cut here. The latter combines a cover of Norman Whitfield's and Barrett Strong's classic Motown hit "War" to "War After War (A Soldier's Story)," with rapper Malik Yusef delivering the narrative above the timeless chorus. "Outer Space" makes liberal use of dubwise tactics, but Jordan's soulful vocal and acoustic piano are enhanced by them. "This Funky Music" borrows the organ swell of "Slipping Into Darkness" as an intro and contains a hip, synth bassline. Evolutionary is an attempt by Jordan and Goldstein to jumpstart War. [The budget-priced set comes packaged with a thoroughly remastered version of War's initial (and platinum-selling) Greatest Hits album making its first appearance on CD. Its ten tracks are worth the purchase price for anyone who doesn't yet have them.] ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for War

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,316
  • UPC: 602537794546
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)