Doc Severinsen The Tonight Show Band With Doc Severinson, Volume 2

The Tonight Show Band With Doc Severinson, Volume
7 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.77 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $2.18 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EWXJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: 1987
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Amherst Records


  • Buy for $0.991.In the Mood
  • Buy for $0.992.The Jersey Bounce
  • Buy for $0.993.Georgia on My Mind
  • Buy for $0.994.The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
  • Buy for $0.995.Air Mail Special
  • Buy for $0.996.April in Paris
  • Buy for $0.997.Stardust
  • Buy for $0.998.Take the "A" Train
  • Buy for $0.999.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.Serenade in Blue
  • Buy for $0.9911.Hamp's Boogie Woogie
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jumpin' at the Woodside

Product Description:

The Tonight Show Band: Doc Severinsen (leader, trumpet, flugelhorn); Tommy Newsom, Bill Perkins, John Bambridge (alto saxophone, flute, clarinet); Pete Christlieb, Ernie Watts (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet), Don Ashworth (baritone saxophone, flute, clarinet); John Audino, Snooky Young, Conte Candoli, Maurey Harris (trumpet, flugelhorn); Gil Falco, Bruce Paulson (trombones); Ernie Tack (bass trombone); Ross Tompkins (piano); Peter Woodford, Bob Bain (guitar); Joel Dibartolo (bass); Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
Recorded at Conway Recording Studios, Hollywood, California on October 6-8 and December 3, 1986.
Personnel: Doc Severinsen (trumpet, flugelhorn); Peter Woodford, Bob Bain (guitar); Donald Ashworth (flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone); John Bambridge, Tommy Newsom, Bill Perkins (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone); Ernie Watts, Pete Christlieb (flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Conte Candoli, Maurice Harris, Maurey Harris, Allen Vizzutti , Snooky Young, John Audino (trumpet, flugelhorn); Gilbert Falco, Bruce Paulson (trombone); Ernie Tack (bass trombone); Ross Tompkins (piano); Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
Audio Mixers: Mick Guzauski; Daren Klein.
Recording information: Conway Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/05/1986/08/07/1988).
Photographer: Brian D. McLaughlin.
Arrangers: John Bambridge; Jeff Tyzik; Tommy Newsom; Bill Holman.
The second of two long-overdue recordings by the Tonight Show Band has its moments, but its reliance on swing-era warhorses and the generally predictable arrangements (Bill Holman's reworkings of "The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise," "Take the 'A' Train," and "Serenade in Blue" are exceptions) are disappointments. However, there is some excellent solo space for trumpeters Doc Severinsen, Snooky Young, and Conte Candoli; tenors Pete Christlieb and Ernie Watts; and pianist Ross Tompkins. Since this legendary big band recorded so little (just three albums for Amherst), all are worth picking up. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Doc Severinsen

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,126
  • UPC: 051617331223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)