Manhattan Transfer Live `86

Live `86
1 rating
SALE: $6.49
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6333
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 81723 (1987)

Description by

This 1987 Atlantic album was recorded live at Nakano Sun Plaza Hall, Tokyo on February 20th and 21st, 1986, and features live versions of many tracks off their popular album "Vocalese."


  • 1.Four Brothers
  • 2.Rambo
  • 3.Meet Benny Baily
  • 4.Airegin
  • 5.To You
  • 6.Sing Joy Springs
  • 7.Move
  • 8.That's Killer Joe
  • 9.The Duke Of Dubuque
  • 10.Gloria
  • 11.On The Boulevard
  • 12.Shaker Song
  • 13.Ray's Rockhouse

Product Description:

Manhattan Transfer: Tim Hauser, Janis Siegel, Alan Paul, Cheryl Bentyne (vocals).
Additional personnel: Wayne Johnson (guitar); Don Roberts (reeds); Yaron Gershovsky (keyboards); Alex Blake (acoustic & electric basses); Buddy Williams (drums).
Recorded live in Tokyo, Japan on February 20-21, 1986. Originally released on Atlantic (81723).
Manhattan Transfer: Tim Hauser, Janis Siegel, Alan Paul, Cheryl Bentyne (vocals).
Additional personnel: Wayne Johnson (guitar), Don Roberts (reeds), Yaron Gershovsky (keyboards), Alex Blake (bass), Buddy Williams (drums).
Perhaps feeling that they should have a real up-to-date live album in their satchel after the half-cocked Bop Doo-Wopp -- and needing some product anyway after the triumphant Vocalese project -- the Manhattan Transfer went back to Tokyo's Nakano Sun Plaza Hall and did another live session. But, as in Bop Doo-Wopp, though these performances take up a whole CD this time, you're not hearing the entire project; the rest of the tunes, all older material, can be seen on the video. What is left is mostly a live version of Vocalese -- eight of its 11 tracks are reprised -- which is perhaps redundant, but just the act of hearing the foursome perform these often-difficult Jon Hendricks-lyricized selections without a net adds to listeners' respect. "Airegin" is particularly challenging -- and yes, they pull it off quite deftly, though without Hendricks' bitter final verse -- and "That's Killer Joe" and "Move" have all of the electricity of the studio versions. The rest of the tunes date back to earlier incarnations of the Transfer -- "Four Brothers" again, a touch of a cappella doo wop in "Gloria," a fine "Shaker Song" -- backed by the Transfer's excellent small combo. Casual listeners who already bought Vocalese don't need this, and the fanatics will have to have it in any case, yet those who have neither album will get a good idea of the excitement that the Transfer could inspire in their hot 1980s creative period. ~ Richard S. Ginell
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Manhattan Transfer

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,003
  • UPC: 090431633328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Jazz Instrument: Bebop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)