Paul Specht Retro-Specht (1925-1931)

Retro-Specht (1925-1931)
2 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EWVA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 18, 2003
  • Label: Vintage Music Prod.


  • 1.Whoopee!
  • 2.Static Strut
  • 3.Honey Bunch
  • 4.I've Grown So Lonesome
  • 5.If All the Stars Were Pretty Babies
  • 6.Yankee Rose
  • 7.Oriental Moonlight
  • 8.I'm Looking Over a Four-Leaf Clover
  • 9.Roll Up the Carpets
  • 10.Hot Feet
  • 11.St. Louis Shuffle
  • 12.Who's That Pretty Baby?
  • 13.Cornfed
  • 14.Sweetheart of All My Dreams
  • 15.That's What I Call Sweet Music
  • 16.My Annapolis (And You)
  • 17.On With the Dance
  • 18.You're Just Another Memory
  • 19.Hittin' the Ceiling
  • 20.Chant of the Jungle
  • 21.That Wonderful Something Is Love
  • 22.(I Still Go On) Wanting You
  • 23.I'm Sailing on a Sunbeam
  • 24.I Wonder How It Feels (To Be Head Over Heels in Love)
  • 25.I Found a Million-Dollar Baby (In a Five-And-Ten Cent Store)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Paul Specht, Artie Shaw, Larry Alpeter, Johnny Morris, Bob Chester, Sylvester Ahola, Roy Smeck, Arthur Schutt, Charlie Butterfield, Al Philburn.
Recorded from 1925-1931.
Personnel: Paul Specht (violin); Johnny Morris (vocals, drums); Lou Calabrese, Roy Smeck (banjo); Larry Abbott, Foster Morehouse, Ernest Warren (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Frank Kilduff (clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Artie Shaw (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jack Cressey, Bob Chester (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Leo McConville, Joe Lindwurm, Sylvester Ahola, Charlie Spivak (trumpet); Al Philburn, Charlie Butterfield, Larry Alpeter (trombone); Phil Wall (piano).
Liner Note Author: Paul Burgess.
Recording information: New York, NY (10/29/1925-05/28/1931).
Violinist Paul Specht started leading bands in 1916, and throughout the 1920s and first half of the '30s, his orchestra was popular. Specht's ensemble performed and recorded regularly, being more of a dance band than a jazz ensemble. A small group taken out of his orchestra, the Georgians, was very jazz-oriented and featured the underrated trumpeter Frank Guarante as early as 1922. However the music on this CD is taken from a slightly later period. Reversing the trend of most other groups of the time, Specht's records of 1925-1928 are generally less interesting than his early Depression performances of 1929-1931. In fact, the numbers included here from the mid-'20s often are a bit corny, have unswinging phrasing and leave one waiting in vain for a hot solo after an insipid vocal. By 1929, the occasional hot solo was included and the ensembles swung a bit more, so the final dozen selections are of greatest interest, being fine hot dance music. Retro-Specht, although not essential, should interest 1920s dance band collectors. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 725543212122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)