Ramsey Lewis Complete Recordings 1960-1962 (4-CD)

Complete Recordings 1960-1962 (4-CD)
3 ratings
17 copies available
List Price: $14.99
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.54 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.45 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  3FDV9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Enlightenment

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Little Liza Jane
  • 2.This Is My Night to Dream
  • 3.Scarlet Ribbons
  • 4.Here 'Tis
  • 5.My Ship
  • 6.Put Your Little Foot Right Out
  • 7.Solo Para Ti
  • 8.These Foolish Things
  • 9.When the Spirit Moves You
  • 10.A Portrait of Jennie
  • 11.Old Devil Moon
  • 12.What's New
  • 13.Carmen
  • 14.Bei Mir Bist Du Schaen
  • 15.I'll Remember April
  • 16.Delilah
  • 17.Folk Ballad
  • 18.But Not for Me
  • 19.C.C. Rider

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Around the World in 80 Days
  • 2.Since I Fell for You
  • 3.Hello Cello
  • 4.I'll Wait for Your Love
  • 5.Volga Boatman
  • 6.Blues for the Night Owl
  • 7.Autumn in New York
  • 8.Gonna Set Your Soul on Fire
  • 9.Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  • 10.The Ripper
  • 11.I Got Plenty of Nothing
  • 12.Waterboy
  • 13.Thanks for the Memory
  • 14.Cielito Lindo
  • 15.You Just Don't Care
  • 16.Never on Sunday
  • 17.You've Changed
  • 18.The Breeze and I
  • 19.Exactly Like You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Merry Christmas Baby
  • 2.Winter Wonderland
  • 3.Santa Claus is Coming to Town
  • 4.Christmas Blues
  • 5.Here Comes Santa Claus
  • 6.The Sound of Christmas
  • 7.The Christmas Song
  • 8.God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • 9.Sleigh Ride
  • 10.What Are You Doing New Year's Eve
  • 11.Sound of Spring
  • 12.Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most
  • 13.Blue Spring
  • 14.Spring Is Here
  • 15.Spring Will Be a Little Late This Year
  • 16.Spring Fever
  • 17.It Might as Well Be Spring
  • 18.Soft Winds
  • 19.There'll Be Another Spring
  • 20.Truly, Truly Spring

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 2.St. Louis Blues
  • 3.Blueberry Hill
  • 4.Country Meets the Blues
  • 5.Memphis in June
  • 6.High Noon
  • 7.I Need You So
  • 8.I Just Want to Make Love to You
  • 9.Tangleweed 'Round My Heart
  • 10.My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  • 11.Samba de Orpheus
  • 12.Mahade Carnaval
  • 13.As Criancinhas
  • 14.A Noite Do Meu Bem
  • 15.O Pato
  • 16.Generique
  • 17.Roda Moinho
  • 18.Cara de Palhaco
  • 19.Canacao Para Geralda

Product Description:

The eight albums collected on this four-disc box represent the original Ramsey Lewis Trio's (the pianist, drummer Redd Holt, and bassist Eldee Young) emergence as a popular entity on the mainstream jazz and pop scenes not only in their hometown of Chicago, but in America at large. All of these dates were originally issued by Argo. Disc one contains both Stretching Out and the grooving Ramsey Lewis Trio in Chicago (that closes with the killer reading of "C.C. Rider," foreshadowing the more driving soul-jazz-oriented sounds they'd record in the mid- to late-'60s). Disc two contains More Music from the Soil and Never On Sunday. The theme albums, Sound of Christmas, and the far more interesting Sound of Spring -- with its fine readings of "Soft Winds" and "Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most" -- make up disc three. The final offering here contains the criminally underrated Country Meets Blues and the popular Bossa Nova, both from 1962. The good news is that this set is almost unbelievably inexpensive. The bad news is two-fold. Enlightenment is a U.K. label and therefore isn't required to pay copyright fees on material at least 50 years old. It also means that they didn't have to use master tapes as their source material: it's highly debatable as to whether these recordings were actually taken from tapes rather than vinyl LPs. You get what you pay for. The stars are for the music, not the package. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ramsey Lewis

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,745
  • UPC: 823564636528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)