Clifford Jordan Play What You Feel (Live)

Play What You Feel (Live)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EWKQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Mapleshade Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 8/97
" clearly inspired throughout the album, soaring over the band even in the ensemble passages. His solos alone are worth the price of the ticket..."
Jazziz - 8/97, p.73
"...the band performs...with considerable inspiration....its style seems rooted in the work of Dizzy Gillespie's 1946-50 outfits....Jordan solos enthusiastically..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Third Avenue
  • 2.Angelica
  • Buy for $0.993.Old Bo
  • Buy for $0.994.I Waited For You
  • Buy for $0.995.Introduction To Evidence
  • Buy for $0.996.Evidence
  • Buy for $0.997.I'll Be Around
  • Buy for $0.998.Bearcat
  • Buy for $0.999.Down Through the Years
  • Buy for $0.9910.Charlie Parker's Last Supper
  • Buy for $0.9911.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • Buy for $0.9912.Band roster

Product Description:

Personnel: Clifford Jordan (tenor saxophone); John Jenkins , Charles Davis (alto saxophone); Lou Orenstein, Lou Orensteen, Junior Cook, Willie Williams (tenor saxophone); Robert Eldridge (baritone saxophone); Dizzy Reece, Don Sickler, Joe Gardner, Dean Pratt (trumpet); Kiane Zawadi (trombone, euphonium); Benny Powell (trombone); Ronnie Mathews (piano); Tommy Campbell (drums).
Liner Note Author: Pierre M. Sprey.
Recording information: Condon's, New York, NY (12/1990).
Arrangers: Clifford Jordan; Dizzy Reece; Don Sickler; Charles Davis .
In 1990, tenor-saxophonist Clifford Jordan achieved one of his lifetime goals and formed a big band. They recorded a demo in December, 1990, that helped land them a record deal with Fantasy. The orchestra recorded one album before Jordan passed away in 1993. The music on Play What You Feel, which was originally the demo, was released for the first time in 1997. The 16-piece orchestra, which includes many of Jordan's friends and longtime associates, was loose but tight, featuring strong solos, spirited ensembles and colorful straight-ahead arrangements. In addition to Jordan, who is heard in prime form and often sounds exuberant, key soloists include Dizzy Reece, Benny Powell and Junior Cook. Highlights include Duke Ellington's joyful "Angelica," "Evidence" and "Charlie Parker's Last Supper" (a blues in the "Parker's Mood" vein) but all of the selections are fun and swinging. This is a highly recommended if little-known gem that makes one happy that Clifford Jordan was able to achieve his goal. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Clifford Jordan

Product Info

  • UPC: 735561032329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)