Yma Sumac Legend of the Jivaro / Fuego del Ande

Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  IMT 1148003
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:


  • 1.Jivaro
  • 2.Sejollo (Whip Dance)
  • 3.Yawar (Blood Festival)
  • 4.Shou Condor (Giant Condor)
  • 5.Sauma (Magic)
  • 6.Nina (Fire Arrow Dance)
  • 7.Sansa (Victory Song)
  • 8.Hampi (Medicine)
  • 9.Sumac Soratena (Beautiful Jungle Girl)
  • 10.Aullay (Lullaby)
  • 11.Batanga-hailli (Festival)
  • 12.Wanka (The Seven Winds)
  • 13.La Molina (The Mill Song)
  • 14.Flor De Canela (Cinnamon Flower)
  • 15.Gallito Caliente (The Hot Rooster)
  • 16.La Pampa Y La Puna (The Plains and the Mountains)
  • 17.Dale Que Dale (The Workers Song)
  • 18.Llora Corazon (Crying Heart)
  • 19.Huachina (Enchanted Lake)
  • 20.La Perla De Chira (The Pearl)

Product Description:

EU-only release containing two complete albums by Yma Sumac performing arrangements of traditional songs. Yma Sumac was the only singer known to possess close to a staggering five octave range. While less than a handful of singers have managed to capture Sumac's high notes, none have managed to acquire those notes including Sumac's lowest registers. While Legend of the Jivaro is inspired by tunes by the Jivaro headhunters, which were, according to the original liner notes, ''learned by Yma Sumac in the tribesmen's South American mountain jungle home'', Fuego del Ande concentrates on similarly traditional melodies from the Incan culture, while also including other Latin American rhythms.
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Yma Sumac

Product Info:

  • UPC: 8436542015936
  • International Shipping: 1 item