Jazz Is Universal / After This Message

Jazz Is Universal / After This Message
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6282
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Jazz Is Universal" was originally released in 1962 as Atlantic CS 1401. "After This Message" was originally released in 1966 as Atlantic CS 1458.
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1401 (1962)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1458 (1966)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Kenny Clarke was the first to shift the time-keeping rhythm from the bass drum to the ride cymbal. One of the most swinging drummers of his era, the very flexible Clarke played with the royalty of jazz and was popular both here and abroad. On this disc you'll also hear The Mitchell-Ruff Duo. Pianist Mitchell and bassist Ruff met when they were both members of the Lionel Hampton band in 1954, and they soon left to form their own group.


  • 1.Box 703, Washington D.C.
  • 2.Styx
  • 3.Gloria
  • 4.Los Bravos
  • 5.Charon's Ferry
  • 6.Volutes
  • 7.Last Trains From Overbrook
  • 8.Love
  • 9.Young Soul
  • 10.I Got Rhythm
  • 11.Improvisation On "Solo For Unaccompanied Bass"
  • 12.Autumn Leaves
  • 13.After This Message
  • 14.Chou Chou
  • 15.Prank

Product Description:

Full performer name: Kenny Clarke & Francy Boland/The Mitchell-Ruff Trio.
2 LPs on 1 CD: Kenny Clarke & Francy Boland: JAZZ IS UNIVERSAL (1962)/The Mitchell-Ruff Trio: AFTER THIS MESSAGE (1966).
Includes liner notes by Bob Altshuler, Willis Conover, and George T. Simon.
Personnel: Kenny Clarke (drums); Francy Boland (piano); Derek Humble (alto saxophone); Carl Drevo, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Sahib Shihab (baritone saxophone, flute); Benny Bailey, Roger Guerin, Jimmy Deuchar, Ahmed Muvaffak Falay (trumpet); Pat Peck, Ake Persson (trombone); Jimmy Woode (bass).
Mitchell-Ruff Trio: Dwike Mitchell (piano); Willie Ruff (French horn, bass); Helcio Melito (drums).
The common thread linking the two releases on this reissue -- one from a razor sharp big band, the other from a dynamic piano trio -- is the accessible, engaging virtuosity of the players. The 13-member Clarke-Boland group on Jazz Is Universal is big on the basis of sound and big names alone, if not in numbers. Drummer Kenny Clarke is outstanding, playing with passion and energy, always at the service of the overall sound. Francy Boland, who did the arranging, is a swinging and propulsive lyrical pianist. He is especially good when the music strips down to the soloist and rhythm section. Add uncanny precision in the ensemble and unison sections and excellent solo work across the board, and big band aficionados will have no difficulty finding a feast of riches in these seven tracks. All hands are in the forefront on After This Message and that's all good when the players are as fine as pianist Dwike Mitchell, bassist Willie Ruff, and drummer Helcio Milito. The trio combines the rampaging splendor of Oscar Peterson's trio with the intimate impressionism of Bill Evans'. With this chemistry, "I Got Rhythm" is reharmonized as a bluesy tone poem. Similar magic is worked on the haunting, modal performance of "Autumn Leaves." "The Prank" is the only clunker. It has Ruff overdubbed on French horn in a further demonstration that -- Birth of the Cool notwithstanding -- this tricky instrument has a difficult time finding a comfortable home in the mainstream of jazz. ~ Jim Todd
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Kenny Clarke

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431628225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)