Chris Connor Chris Connor / He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Chris Connor / He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6239
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Chris Connor" was originally released in 1956 as Atlantic 1228. On "He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not", Chris Connor is accompanied by an orchestra conducted by Ralph Burns. All arrangements are by Ralph Burns. Originally released in 1956 as Atlantic 1240.
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1228 (1956)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1240 (1956)

Description by

Cool jazz singing has one of its greatest artists in Chris Connor, who used subtlety and nuance to maximum effect. She began singing in the late '40s with bands (soon ending up with Stan Kenton) and struck out as a solo artist in the early '50s. The fine singing on these recordings shows why she still enjoys a devoted following today. Performers on this release include pianist John Lewis and saxman Zoot Sims.

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.133
3 stars out of 5 - "[I]mpressive and atmospheric..."


  • 1.I Get A Kick Out Of You
  • 2.Something To Live For
  • 3.Get Out Of Town
  • 4.Where Are You
  • 5.Anything Goes
  • 6.You Make Me Feel So Young
  • 7.Ev'rytime
  • 8.Way Out There
  • 9.My April Heart
  • 10.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 11.Circus
  • 12.Flying Home
  • 13.High On A Windy Hill
  • 14.Round About
  • 15.Angel Eyes
  • 16.You Stepped Out Of A Dream
  • 17.Why Can't I
  • 18.Suddenly It's Spring
  • 19.About The Blues
  • 20.Oh! Your Crazy Moon
  • 21.But Not For Me
  • 22.I Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
  • 23.I Wonder What Became Of Me
  • 24.Thursday's Child

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Chris Connor (vocals); Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Al Young, Sam Marowitz, Ray Beckenstein, Danny Bank (reeds); Nick Travis (trumpet); John Lewis, Moe Weschler (piano); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Connie Kay, Milton Hinton, Osie Johnson (drums).
Personnel includes: Chris Connor (vocals); Ralph Burns (conductor).
1956 was a busy year for singer Chris Connor, for she recorded four albums for Atlantic. Two of these records (which have been long out of print) are reissued in full on this single CD, albums titled Chris Connor and He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not. Actually two of the songs from the former LP ("When the Wind Was Green" and "He Was Too Good for Me") have been replaced by unissued versions of "Circus" and "Flying Home." The Chris Connor date has plenty of variety, as the cool-toned singer is accompanied either by a large orchestra arranged by Ralph Burns, a rhythm quartet led by pianist John Lewis, or a six-horn tentet. Connor shows off her versatility on "Something to Live For," "Get out of Town," "Almost Like Being in Love," and "Flying Home." The He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not set has her joined by the Ralph Burns orchestra and has plenty of ballads, including "High on a Windy Hill," "Angel Eyes," "Oh You Crazy Moon," and "I Guess I'll Hang My Tears out to Dry." This CD of former rarities is well worth acquiring. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Chris Connor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,417
  • UPC: 090431623923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)