Ivie Anderson I Got It Good and That Ain't Bad!

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  JSM 2560

More titles by Ivie Anderson

CD Details

  • Released: November 5, 1999
  • Label: Jasmine Music


  • 1.Truckin'
  • 2.All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  • 3.Rose of the Rio Grande
  • 4.When My Sugar Walks Down the Street
  • 5.I'm Checkin Out Goombye
  • 6.Solitude
  • 7.Stormy Weather
  • 8.Mood Indigo
  • 9.Me and You
  • 10.At a Dixie Roadside Diner
  • 11.Five O'Clock Whistle
  • 12.Jump For Joy
  • 13.Rocks in My Bed
  • 14.Hayfoot, Strawfoot
  • 15.Mexico Joe
  • 16.Play Me the Blues
  • 17.I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
  • 18.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 19.I Thought You Ought to Know
  • 20.The Voot Is Here to Stay
  • 21.He's Tall, Dark and Handsome
  • 22.Empty Red Blues
  • 23.Twice Too Many
  • 24.I Want a Big Butter and Egg Man

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ivie Anderson (vocals); Duke Ellington (arranger, piano); Johnny Hodges (soprano & alto saxophones); Harry Carney (alto & baritone saxophones, clarinet); Barney Bigard (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Cootie Williams (trumpet); Juan Tizol (valve trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Fred Guy (guitar); Jimmy Blanton, Charles Mingus (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Includes liner notes by Tony Middleton.
Ivie Anderson was Duke Ellington's star female vocalist from 1935 to 1942. Unlike most other Anderson compilations, Jasmine's I Got It Good & That Ain't Bad combines her best Ellington sides with mature work from as late as 1946. The selection is uncommonly excellent, and focuses upon this singer's most dignified performances by avoiding some of Tin Pan Alley's more hackneyed material, for like the majestic Adelaide Hall and Edward Kennedy Ellington himself, Anderson had a lot of class. Here at last is a retrospective that portrays her at her very best. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 131,902
  • UPC: 604988256024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item