Claude Thornhill 1948 Transcription Performance

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HEP 17

CD Details

  • Released: March 22, 1994
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Poor Little Rich Girl
  • 2.Adios
  • 3.Where or When
  • 4.Spanish Dance
  • 5.Anthropology
  • 6.Baia
  • 7.Arab Dance
  • 8.Robbins' Nest
  • 9.Royal Garden Blues
  • 10.Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  • 11.There's a Small Hotel
  • 12.I Knew You When
  • 13.Someone to Watch over Me
  • 14.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 15.I Don't Know Why
  • 16.April in Paris
  • 17.Begin the Beguine
  • 18.Godchild
  • 19.Song Is You
  • 20.Paloma (Grey Dove)
  • 21.Lover Man
  • 22.To Each His Own
  • 23.Elevation

Product Description:

& His Orchestra.
Claude Thornhill & His Orchestra includes: Claude Thornhill, Lee Konitz.
Recorded in 1948-1949.
Personnel: Claude Thornhill (piano); Snowflakes (vocals); Joe Derise, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Danny Polo (clarinet, alto saxophone); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Gerry Mulligan (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Jerry Sanfino (tenor saxophone); Louis Mucci, Gene Roland, Johnny Carisi, Johnny Napton, Bob Peck (trumpet); Walter Welscher (French horn); Allan Langstaff, Leon Cox (trombone); Billy Barber (tuba); Bill Exiner (drums).
Recording information: 04/1948-10/1948.
Photographer: William Gottlieb.
Arrangers: Claude Thornhill; Andy Phillips; Gene Roland; Gerry Mulligan; Gil Evans; Johnny Carisi.
This CD has the only existing performances of the Claude Thornhill Orchestra from 1948, a year when a recording strike kept most bands off of records. With many charts by Gil Evans or Gerry Mulligan, the Thornhill big band was often quite bop-oriented and featured fine solos from clarinetist Danny Polo, altoist Lee Konitz and the tenor of Mickey Folus; a few numbers also include Brew Moore on tenor, baritonist Gerry Mulligan and trumpeter Gene Roland. In addition there are some vocals from the Snowflakes (a vocal quintet) and Joe Derise. The highly enjoyable and somewhat historical CD is easily recommended to bop collectors and listeners who are interested in the later Claude Thornhill Orchestra. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Claude Thornhill

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 120,171
  • UPC: 603366001720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item