Claude Thornhill 1949-1953 Performances

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HEP 80

CD Details

  • Released: September 7, 2004
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Oh You Beautiful Doll
  • 2.Moonlight Bay
  • 3.Sweet and Lovely
  • 4.You Go to My Head
  • 5.Breezin' Along (With the Breeze)
  • 6.The One I Love
  • 7.I'll See You in My Dreams
  • 8.Night and Day
  • 9.You Wore a Tulip
  • 10.Anthropology
  • 11.Autumn Nocturne
  • 12.Arab Dance
  • 13.Mambo Nothin
  • 14.Jeru
  • 15.Adios
  • 16.Family Affair
  • 17.Pussy Footin'
  • 18.(Now That) Summer Is Gone
  • 19.(Now That) Summer Is Gone
  • 20.Deep Purple
  • 21.To Each His Own
  • 22.Rose of the Rio Grand
  • 23.Poor Little Rich Girl
  • 24.Five Brothers
  • 25.Medley: When I'm With You / By the Rippling Stream / Puttin' and Takin': When I'm With You / Puttin' And Takin'
  • 26.You Go to My Head

Product Description:

Personnel: Claude Thornhill (piano); Joe Derise (vocals, guitar); Paula Martin (vocals); Danny Perri, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Hal McKusick, Med Flory, Danny Polo (clarinet, alto saxophone); Gene Quill (alto saxophone); Dick Hafer, Jeff Massingill, Ray Norman, John Andrews (tenor saxophone); Gene Allen (baritone saxophone); Sonny Rich , Tom Arthur, Thomas Patton, Lee Katzman (trumpet); Al Antonucci, Junior Collins, Sandy Siegelstein (French horn); Allan Langstaff, Milt Gold (trombone); Billy Barber (tuba); Winston Welch, Billy Exner (drums); Al Epstein (bongos).
Arranger: Joe Derise.
The Claude Thornhill Orchestra was a unique big band, a "sweet" orchestra with strong jazz sensibilities that helped lead the way toward West Coast cool jazz. Often having his reed section play five clarinets without vibrato, emphasizing long atmospheric tones, and performing dreamy ballads, Thornhill also kept his band open to the influence of bebop. This CD starts off with Thornhill's radio transcriptions of 1949-1950, a time when his band included few major names but still had a strong and unique ensemble sound. The final 14 selections are from a two-day session in 1953 that ranks among Thornhill's last significant recordings. The band, which included Gene Quill and Med Flory on altos, mostly performs the arrangements of Gerry Mulligan, tenor saxophonist Ralph Aldridge, and Thornhill. It still sounded unique, and as out of place in the 1950s jazz world as it had a decade earlier. Overall, the highlights of this set of rarities include "Moonlight Bay," "Anthropology," the beautiful "Autumn Nocturne," "Mambo Nothing," "Jeru," two versions of "Summer Is Gone," and "Five Brothers." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Claude Thornhill

Product Info:

  • UPC: 603366008026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item