Claude Thornhill 1946-47 Performances, Volume 2751937309222

1946-47 Performances, Volume 2751937309222
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WJR9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 18, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Let's Go
  • 2.Lodge Podge
  • 3.The Troubadour
  • 4.Paloma, La
  • 5.Adios
  • 6.Love for Love
  • 7.Anthropology
  • 8.Sorta Kinda
  • 9.Don't Call It Love
  • 10.Robbins' Nest
  • 11.I Never Loved Anyone
  • 12.Lover Man
  • 13.Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  • 14.The Happy Stranger
  • 15.Donna Lee
  • 16.Look for the Silver Lining
  • 17.Just About This Time Last Night
  • 18.For Heaven's Sake
  • 19.Whip-Poor-Will
  • 20.I Remember Mama
  • 21.Yardbird Suite
  • 22.Tell Me Why
  • 23.Let's Call It a Day

Product Description:

Claude Thornhill: Claude Thornhill (unknown instrument); Victor Harris, Clarence Willard, Louis Mucci, Ed Zandy, John Torick, Walter Weschler, Ed Stang, Bill Gover, Joe Schulman, Billy Exner, Chet Pardee, Bob Walters, Iggy Shevak, Ted Goddard, Emil Terry, Al Antonucci, Joe Aglora, Fran Warren, Allan Langstaff, Gene Williams, Jake Koven, Les Clark , Jack DuLong, Bill Bushey, James Genus, Mario Rollo, Tak Takvorian, Jerry Rosa, Lee Konitz, Red Rodney, Barry Galbraith, Rusty Dedrick, Billy Barber , Irving Cottler, Mickey Folus , Bob Jenney, Danny Polo, Sandy Siegelstein, Jack Ferrier, Paul Cohen (unknown instrument).
Personnel: Claude Thornhill (piano); Fran Warren (vocals); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Victor Harris, James Genus (flute, piccolo); Bill Glover , Les Clark (flute, alto saxophone); Bill Bushey (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Ted Goddard, Danny Polo, Jack Ferrier (clarinet, alto saxophone); Joe Aglora, Jack DuLong, Mario Rollo (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Bob Walters (clarinet); Mickey Folus (bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Clarence Willard, Louis Mucci, Emil Terry, Eddie Zandy, Jake Koven, Red Rodney, Paul Cohen (trumpet); Walter Welscher, Sandy Siegelstein (flugelhorn); Al Antonucci (French horn); Allan Langstaff, John Torick, Tak Takvorian, Jerry Rosa, Bob Jenney (trombone); Billy Ray Barber (tuba); Billy Exner, Irving Cottler (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
Liner Note Author: Alastair Robertson.
Recording information: Liederkranz Hall, New York, NY (??/??/1946-12/17/1947); New York, NY (??/??/1946-12/17/1947).
Arrangers: Claude Thornhill; Gil Evans.
The U.K.'s Hep label continues its tribute to Claude Thornhill & His Orchestra with this second volume devoted specifically to recordings made in 1946 and 1947. Opening with a pair of definitively rare transcription discs from an unspecified date in 1946, this exciting compilation plows through the standard Thornhill session discography from August 11 to December 17, 1947, salvaging a long-lost alternate rendition of "La Paloma" and an adaptation of "The Troubadour," a movement from Modest Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition. What makes this edition perhaps more adventuresome than Vol. 1 is the emphasis upon early modern jazz. This means that even as the sweet element was still active (especially in the form of pop tunes interpreted by vocalist Fran Warren), Thornhill was hiring skilled young improvisers like Red Rodney, Danny Polo, and Lee Konitz while granting arranger Gil Evans freedom and license to incorporate bop themes and progressive tropes into the band's operative infrastructure. Suddenly, Thornhill's book was sprouting contemporary outgrowths like Trummy Young's "Sorta Kinda" and Sir Charles Thompson and Illinois Jacquet's "Robbins' Nest," as well as Dizzy Gillespie and/or Charlie Parker compositions like "Anthropology," "Donna Lee," and "Yardbird Suite." The omission of ten quartet recordings dating from this part of the Thornhill chronology suggests that the producers saved the more intimate small-group episodes for a different volume in the series. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Claude Thornhill

Product Info

  • UPC: 603366007425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)