Hans Zimmer The Amazing Spider-Man 2 [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
Price: $19.78
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $2.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  39CGF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 22, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Sony


  • 1.I'm Electro
  • 2.There He Is
  • 3.I'm Spiderman
  • 4.My Enemy
  • 5.Ground Rules
  • 6.Look At Me
  • 7.Special Project
  • 8.You Need Me
  • 9.So Much Anger
  • 10.I'm Moving To England
  • 11.I'm Goblin
  • 12.Let Her Go
  • 13.You're My Boy
  • 14.I Need To Know
  • 15.Sum Total
  • 16.I Chose You
  • 17.We're Best Friends
  • 18.Still Crazy
  • 19.The Rest of My Life
  • 20.You're That Spider Guy
  • 21.Electro Suite
  • 22.Harry's Suite
  • 23.Cold War
  • 24.No Place
  • 25.It's On Again - Alicia Keys w / Kendrick Lemar
  • 26.Song For Zula
  • 27.That's My Man
  • 28.Here
  • 29.Honest
  • 30.Electro Remix

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Marc Webb.
Credited to Hans Zimmer & the Magnificent Six, who replaced James Horner's largely orchestral score for the first film with a juiced-up, largely electronic one, the soundtrack for the Amazing Spider-Man 2 echoes the sequel's frenetic, slick, and streamlined action, offering up 14 instrumental pieces and six non-score-related songs that dutifully reflect the measured and meticulous, corporate tie-in sensibilities of the traditional summer blockbuster while still managing to march to the beat of their own very loud drum. Zimmer and his small army of hit makers, who include Johnny Marr (the Smiths), Junkie XL, Michael Einziger (Incubus), Andrew Kawczynski, Pharrell Williams, and Steve Mazzaro, infuse Andrew Garfield's second go-around as the web slinger with equal amounts of pomp and circumstance, introducing a new main theme that pairs a traditional, heroic, horn-driven melody with a serpentine (or spider-like) arpeggiated synth motif that goes a long way in marrying the faded glory of Spidey's comic book origins to the high-octane, over-stimulation of 21st century cinema. Upon first listen, the villain theme, introduced right off the bat with "I'm Electro," seems a little too on the nose, but the mesmerizing eight-minute "My Enemy" eradicates any off flavors by presenting a theme that matches the grace and muscular chrome sheen of Spider Man's cue, albeit via the bold strokes of dubstep. It shouldn't work, but Zimmer and co. have constructed a beast of a piece that frames a whispered laundry list of internal transgressions with an electro-rock center and a sneaky, Baroque-kissed whip of a base melody that spins the whole thing off in a kind of Marvel-approved re-imagining of Coolio's "Gangster's Paradise." The tacked-on songs, which include radio-ready offerings from Pharrell Williams, Phosphorescent, and Alicia Keys feat. Kendrick Lamar, are all well and good in that largely forgettable, ubiquitous movie-credits-sequence kind of way, but Zimmer and company's remarkably forward-thinking score makes this sequel to a film (which arrived a mere five years after the first franchise ended) a surprise gem. ~ James Christopher Monger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Hans Zimmer

Product Info

  • UPC: 888430598720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)