Acoustic Alchemy AArt

26 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  39CG9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Acoustic Alchemy ~ Roseland ~ $10.56

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Higher Octave


  • 1.Wish You Were Near
  • 2.AArt Attack
  • 3.Flamoco Loco
  • 4.Tuff Puzzle
  • 5.Passion Play
  • 6.Senjo Wine
  • 7.Viva Ch‚
  • 8.The Velvet Swing
  • 9.Robbie's Revenge
  • 10.Love at a Distance
  • 11.Code Name Pandora
  • 12.Nathan Road
  • 13.Cactus Blue
  • 14.The Wind of Change

Product Description:

Acoustic Alchemy includes: Julie Dennis (vocals); Miles Gildrdale (electric & steel guitar); Greg Carmichael (nylon string guitar); Adrian Revell (tenor saxophone); Snake Davis, Andy Sheppard (saxophone); Noel Langley, Guy Barker (trumpet); Janice Ballard (French horn); Fayyaz Virji (trombone); Anthony White (keyboards, programming); Simon Hale, Wix, Terence Disley (keyboards); Andy Hammill (acoustic double bass); Frank Felix (bass); Pete Lewinson, Geoff Dunn (drums); Richard Bull (percussion, programming);
Recorded at Higher Ground Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Stewart Coxhead.
AART was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Pop Instrumental Album.
Personnel: Julie Dennis (vocals); Greg Carmichael (nylon-string guitar); Dino Soldo, Jeff Kashiwa, Andy Sheppard , Snake Davis (saxophone); Adrian Revell (tenor saxophone); Noel Langley, Guy Barker (trumpet); Fayyaz Virji (trombone); Anthony White (keyboards, programming); Simon Hale (keyboards); Andy Hamill (double bass); Richard Bull (drums, percussion, programming, drum programming); Geoff Dunn, Peter Lewison (drums).
Audio Mixer: Richard Bull.
Recording information: Higher Ground Studios, London, England.
Photographer: Nicolas Zurcher.
Presented as the apex of a metamorphoses begun on Beautiful Game toward a more filled out group sound, leader Greg Carmichael accents his trademark nylon string guitar style with a horn section. Considered one of the defining arbiters of smooth jazz, Acoustic Alchemy actually lean more to the pop side of the genre, often betraying more than a passing interest in soul music. The songs on AArt are no exception. The curiously titled "Viva Che" -- for Guavara? -- is straight-up Latin disco lite,   la Jamiroquai, replete with Moog keyboard swirls and Brazilian percussion hiccups. The first single, "Wish You Were Near," showcasing Snake Davis on tenor sax, features Carmichael at his dramatic best, soloing over an up-tempo groove backed by Philly soul-style horn hits. Longtime Alchemy buffs will no doubt find much to enjoy on this disc, and, despite the processed sound of some backing instruments -- full keyboard strings -- the inclusion of many retro-'70s disco era techniques may appeal to a wider dance-oriented audience. ~ Matt Collar

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Acoustic Alchemy

Product Info

  • UPC: 724381110324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)