Esther Phillips And I Love Him (Sings Great Love Songs) / Esther

And I Love Him (Sings Great Love Songs) / Esther
4 ratings
Only 8 copies left
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6228
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • "And I Love Him" was arranged and conducted by Ray Ellis with the exception of Track 5, 10, 11, and 12 which were arranged and conducted by Mort Garson. Originally released in 1965 as Atlantic 8102. "Ester" was originally released in 1966 as Atlantic 8122.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 8102 (1965)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 8122 (1966)

Description by

Esther Phillips was also amazingly versatile and successful in the R&B, blues, jazz, and soul fields. On "And I Love Him" Esther does what the album's subtitle says: she "Sings Great Love Songs." This albums is wonderfully complemented by "Esther Sings," a lovely collection of standards that she sings in her own individual and totally winning style. Ray Ellis both arranged and conducted many tracks on this release.


  • 1.And I Love Him
  • 2.Tis Autumn
  • 3.Shangri-La
  • 4.Moonglow & Theme From Picnic
  • 5.Out Of The Blue
  • 6.People
  • 7.Makin' Whoopee
  • 8.Girl From Ipanema
  • 9.I Wish You Love
  • 10.If You Love Me, Really Love Me
  • 11.Too Soon To Know
  • 12.Make Believe Dreams
  • 13.It's All Right With Me
  • 14.The Shadow Of Your Smile
  • 15.Crazy He Calls Me
  • 16.He Touched Me
  • 17.A Taste Of Honey
  • 18.Let There Be Love
  • 19.You Can't Go Home Again
  • 20.Just Say Goodbye
  • 21.I Could Have Told You So
  • 22.Every Time We Say Goodbye
  • 23.As Tears Go By
  • 24.The Party's Over

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: AND I LOVE HIM (1965)/ESTHER (1966).
Includes original release liner notes by Jack "Pearshape" Walker.
Liner Note Author: Jack Walker.
Arrangers: Jimmy Wisner; Oliver Nelson; Ray Ellis.
This Collectables compilation packages Esther Phillips' first two LPs for Atlantic, 1965's And I Love Him! and the following year's Esther Phillips Sings. Gradually switching from an R&B chart name to a pop singer with a subtle power over the blues and jazz, Phillips didn't hit the charts much during the year ("And I Love Him" was the big exception), but she did record great versions of some solid material: "Shangri-La," "It's All Right With Me," "Every Time We Say Goodbye," and others. The sound is solid as well, leaving this collection as a great next step after the Atlantic wrap-up, The Best of Esther Phillips (1962-1970). ~ John Bush
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Esther Phillips

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,721
  • UPC: 090431622827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Soul Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)