LaVern Baker La Vern Baker / La Vern

La Vern Baker / La Vern
9 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6224
Brand New

Available in a set:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1991, LaVern Baker began singing in church choirs, and got her first break singing under the name "Little Miss Sharecropper". Both of the albums on this showcase Baker at her best; on these 26 tracks she rocks in her inimitable style.


  • 1.Lots And Lots Of Love
  • 2.Of Course I Do
  • 3.You'll Be Crying
  • 4.Miracles
  • 5.I'm In A Crying Mood
  • 6.Mine All Mine
  • 7.Harbor Lights
  • 8.I'll Never Be Free
  • 9.Romance In The Dark
  • 10.Everybody's Somebody's Fool
  • 11.How Long Will It Be
  • 12.Fool That I Am
  • 13.Jim Dandy
  • 14.Tra La La
  • 15.I Can't Love You Enough
  • 16.Get Up, Get Up (You Sleepy Head)
  • 17.That's All I Need
  • 18.Bop-Ting-A-Ling
  • 19.Tweedlee Dee
  • 20.Still
  • 21.Play It Fair
  • 22.Tomorrow Night
  • 23.That Lucky Old Sun
  • 24.You Set My Soul On Fire
  • 25.My Happiness Forever
  • 26.How Can You Leave A Man Like This?

Product Description:

Also available as part of the Collectables box THE LEGEND AT HER BEST.
Includes liner notes by Marv Goldberg.
Personnel: LaVern Baker (vocals).
LAVERN/LAVERN BAKER presents Baker's first two albums (from 1956 and 1953, respectively) on a single disc. Baker, of course, was the first great female star of early rock & roll. Like much early rock, her music has a wonderfully brash spirit.
The musical styles range from jump blues ("Lots and Lots of Love") and quasi-doo-wop novelties (the often-covered "Jim Dandy") to jazzy, Johnny Ace-influenced ballads ("You'll Be Crying"). Whatever the style, Baker's sound is unique-a soulful combination of unbridled lungpower and sophisticated phrasing. With the possible exception of the Chantels' Arlene Smith, Baker had no equal until the arrival of Aretha Franklin.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for LaVern Baker

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,298
  • UPC: 090431622421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)