The Essex Easier Said Than Done / A Walkin' Miracle

Easier Said Than Done / A Walkin' Miracle
18 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6204
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Easier Said Than Done" was originally released in 1963 as Roulette-25234. "A Walkin' Miracle" was originally released in 1963 as Roulette-25235.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Essex was a R&B quintet formed by members of the U.S. Marine Corps in 1962. Their success happend practically overnight. Their first recording "Easier Said Than Done" hit the top of both the Pop and R&B charts. The two albums featured on this disc features some fine examples of infectious '60s "girl group" Pop.


  • 1.Easier Said Than Done
  • 2.Whenever I Need My Baby
  • 3.Where Is He
  • 4.All In My Mind
  • 5.Every Night
  • 6.I Love Her
  • 7.Are You Going My Way
  • 8.Been So Long
  • 9.Come On To My Party
  • 10.I Have To Cry
  • 11.Conga Laya
  • 12.We Belong Together
  • 13.A Walkin' Miracle
  • 14.What I Don't Know Won't Hurt Me
  • 15.She's Got Everything
  • 16.Curfew Lover
  • 17.Why Do Fools Fall In Love
  • 18.Dance Without Music
  • 19.Crawl Before You Walk
  • 20.Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
  • 21.More Than It Would Help
  • 22.I Want The Real True Thing
  • 23.I'd Do Anything
  • 24.Quit While You're Ahead

Product Description:

The Essex: Anita Humes, Billy Hill (vocals); Walter Vickers, Rudolph Johnson (guitar); Rodney Taylor.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Recording information: Narbeth, PA.
The Essex's lead singer Anita Humes sounded and looked like Florence Ballad (Supremes). She must have been a huge fan of early Motown, because many of these selections mimic the sound. Humes and the rest of the group -- Walter Vickers, Rodney Taylor, Rudy Johnson, and Billie Hill -- were active Marine Corps members when the bubblegum-ish "Easier Said Than Done" zoomed to Number 1 on July 6, 1963. Collectables combined their two most successful albums on this CD. Walkin' Miracle, which was similar to Easier . . . shot to Number 12, their only other chart record was "She's Got Everything" (included), but don't let that put you off. Their two big hits were aberrations, they had a much more soulful persona as they prove on "I Love Her," and "Every Night," which sounds like Smokey Robinson's productions on Mary Wells with the Lovetones accompanying. "Whenever I Need My Baby" showcases the fellas' pleasant harmony. They weren't the Moonglows, but were smooth, crooners who blended in unison. Contains some good ballads, exquisitely done by Humes including "All in My Mind" and upbeat numbers like Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers' "Why Do Fools Fall in Love." Listening to Humes you wonder why Berry Gordy didn't give her a call for the Supremes gig when Florence got the pink slip. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Very good music of the 60s Music Lover: from STRASBOURG, Bas-Rhin FR -- March, 14, 2008

This CD contains titles of a quality which makes rare at present

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Essex

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,254
  • UPC: 090431620427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Oldies: Girl Groups Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)