Jon Hendricks Salud! Joao Gilberto

Salud! Joao Gilberto
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6197
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Reprise 6089 (1963)

Description by

Over the course of his career, vocalist Jon Hendricks has been a jazz writer for the San Franciso Chroncile, a music teacher, a member of one of the best Jazz vocal groups of all-time (Lambert, Hendricks and Ross), and the founder of a vocal group that included his wife and children (and also Bobby McFerrin!). Hendricks pays homage to the Bossa Nova of Gilberto on this 1963 Reprise recording.


  • 1.The Duck (O Pato)
  • 2.Quiet Nights (Corcovado)
  • 3.You And I (Voce E Eu)
  • 4.Love And Peace (O Amor Em Paz)
  • 5.Little Paper Ball (Bolinha De Papel)
  • 6.Longing For Bahia (Saudade Da Bahia)
  • 7.Little Train Of Iron (Trem De Ferro)
  • 8.No More Blues (Chega De Saudade)
  • 9.Rosa Morena
  • 10.The Most Beautiful Thing (Coisa Mais Linda)
  • 11.Samba Of My Land (Samba Da Minha Terra)
  • 12.Once Again (Outra Vez)
  • 13.Jive Samba

Product Description:

Adapters: Johnny Carisi; Johnny Mandel.
Personnel: Jon Hendricks (vocals); Buddy Collette (flute); Frank Messina (accordion); Conte, Pete Candoli (trumpet); Milt Bernhart (trombone); Gildo Mahones (piano); Ray Sherman (organ); Jimmie Smith (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Jon Hendricks; Leonard Feather.
Jon Hendricks idolizes Joao Gilberto -- he has spoken fondly of their first meeting where they scatted to each other before ever speaking a word -- and he wasted little time putting together a tribute album at the height of the first bossa nova wave. It ought to come as no surprise that he would display total sympathy with the bossa nova manner here, singing softly and smoothly -- and Hendricks' English wordplay is quite faithful to the original tunes and meanings of the Portuguese lyrics, in contrast to his usual whimsical work with jazz improvisations. Hendricks is particularly winning, and irresistibly swinging on the rare occasions ("Voce E Eu," "Samba Da Minha Terra") when he scats to the Brazilian rhythm; he should have done more of that here. But then, his versions of Gilberto's repertoire are carefully based on Gilberto's early EMI/Odeon recordings (now available on The Legendary Joao Gilberto); even Antonio Carlos Jobim's string and wind charts for the originals are preserved by adapter Johnny Mandel. Alas, the only Hendricks lyric that has become a universal standard is Jobim's "Chega de Saudade" ("No More Blues"). As Hendricks' only album-length encounter with bossa nova, Salud! Joao Gilberto Originator of the Bossa Nova is essential. ~ Richard S. Ginell
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Jon Hendricks

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431619728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)