The Four Knights Four Knights 1945-1950

Four Knights 1945-1950
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $17.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.39 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $3.59 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WK5V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Heritage Music


  • 1.Gospel Train
  • 2.Choo Choo Ch'Boogie
  • 3.Jezebel
  • 4.Darktown Strutters' Ball
  • 5.Good News, the Chariots Acomin'
  • 6.A Little Talk With Jesus
  • 7.He Said He'd Calm the Ocean
  • 8.Walking With My Shadow
  • 9.Sugarfoot Rag
  • 10.Does Jesus Care?
  • 11.I'll Be Satisfied
  • 12.Shadrack
  • 13.It's a Good Day
  • 14.Rise, Shine
  • 15.Farther Along
  • 16.When They Ring Dem Golden Bells for You and Me
  • 17.Don't You Want to Join That Number?
  • 18.Ain't Got Nothin' to Lose
  • 19.Georgia on My Mind
  • 20.Swinging on the Golden Gate
  • 21.He'll Understand and Say Well Done
  • 22.Latch
  • 23.I'm Falling for You
  • 24.Dese Bones Shall Rise Again
  • 25.Ain't Gwine to Study War No More
  • 26.Just in Case You Change Your Mind
  • 27.It's So Nice to Be Nice to Your Neighbor
  • 28.When the Moon Goes Down in the Valley of Time
  • 29.Lead Me to That Rock
  • 30.Ride On King Jesus

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Walter DeVenne.
Recording information: New York, NY (05/01/1945-07/18/1947).
This marvelous vocal quartet has been woefully overlooked by most surveys of R&B and pop history, which is a shame, since the Four Knights exhibited a hushed grace and elegance in everything they recorded. Led by the gentle high tenor singing of Gene Alford, the Knights bear a passing resemblance to contemporaries the Mills Brothers, but with less jazz and more Jubilee gospel thrown into the mix. This delightful album catches the Four Knights at the beginning of their recording career (1945-1950), and features 27 of their Lang-Worth radio transcriptions (recordings made for radio shows that made it appear the artist was live in the studio) along with a couple of their early singles for Decca Records. The Four Knights were arguably at their peak after they signed with Capitol Records in 1951, but it's hard to fault these gentle tracks, which range from stylish Jubilee pieces like "Gospel Train" and "Rise, Shine" to artful pop gems like "Just in Case You Change Your Mind." It's startling to hear the gorgeous and completely original vocal arrangements the group gives such familiar songs as "Georgia on My Mind" and "Ain't Gwine to Study War No More," both of which are reborn here in stunning new clothes, and it's no wonder that the Four Knights were Nat King Cole's vocal group of choice during his stay at Capitol Records, since the Knights definitely share his graceful, intimate pop approach. A wonderful collection. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for The Four Knights

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,209
  • UPC: 008637504922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)